Up for an award

No! not a Bobby, you Ravelers!

Malahide Library (which I started designing five years ago and which opened its doors last December) has been shortlisted for a LAMA Award for Best Public Building. It’s up against some stiff competition, so I’m not holding my breath. I’m more bothered about all that getting to the awards dinner this Saturday evening will involve:

  • DH getting his connecting flight home from Minneapolis without incident,
  • expressing a few bottles so that he can feed The Earl,
  • getting The Earl settled so that I’m not out of my mind with anxiety as I drive over to CityWest for the dinner,
  • driving over to City West & home again
  • not to mention having something to wear.

Aargh!

Anyway, in the meantime I’ve been treating myself with yarn & goodies from This Is Knit. So… what have we here?

  • “Chibi” Darning Needles
  • Small Double Ended Stitch Holders
  • 1 x Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock – Mount Creek (I accidentally picked up one skein while I was at the shop in person – buying needles, but you know the way – so this second skein is the justification for this whole package. I think my subconcious enabler was at work heheh!)
  • Clover “Getaway” Needle Wrap (badly needed)
  • 7mm Crochet Hook (not needed yet, but if I really want to crochet something out of the Happy Hooker some day I’m gonna need a bigger needle – to paraphrase that great line in “Jaws”)
  • 1 x Ranco Multi – Shade 501 (This was just a crazy buy that I’m not sure what I’m going to do with it but I just had to have it)
  • 1 x Ranco Semi Solid – Shade 489 (OMG, this is delish! I noticed Lunasa/Yvonne made some yummy Monkeys out of this just after I bought it so I couldn’t wait to see it in person. I’m pretty sure DH will claim it if I don’t make it into Pomotamus or something soon)

After the disaster that were the Back to Basics for DH (which languish as a jumbled, sorry heap at the edge of my desk) I’ve cast on two socks on two circulars using a guideline / formula type pattern I found on Ravelry. It’s using another single skein of Lornas Laces Shepherd Sock I bought when I was in This is Knit, except in this case they didn’t have a second skein to match. I’ve decided that I’d knit them for my DD so that I can rescue my contribution to the Sock A Month KAL I joined. So far I’ve got as far as the toe and I’ve suddenly decided that I’m missing out on all the action at the Knitters Almanac group I joined in Ravelry. They’re all knitting the Fishtrap Sweater & I’m reading all about how to do twisted stitches but, as I’m not actually doing it, it’s not sinking in. I’ve decided that I could use the fishtrap pattern on these socks. I just have to re-chart the 35 stitch pattern for the 24 stitches on my daughter’s socks and I’ll be off again.

4 Responses to “Up for an award”

  1. Yvonne Says:

    Good luck tonight. I hope you enjoy the Ranco, I love the colour of my socks!

  2. Averil Says:

    Congratulation on the nomination! I hope the night went smoothly and you could get there, relax and enjoy yourself.

    As for the socks – I had to laugh at the wrestling the porcupine image. I do mine on DPNs and find the thought of circulars daunting! Though it´s my goal to master it in 2008. And Good luck with the 12 pairs!

  3. Sharon Says:

    Congrats on the nomination!

  4. undermeoxter Says:

    Thank you all! Unfortunately (as I’m sure you’ve guessed by my silence on the subject – not renowned for humility) it didn’t win. Gotta tell you: CityWest is a god-forsaken place to find yourself in on a miserable winter’s evening! I wish I’d stayed home knitting. Though, it was nice to be away from The Earl for an evening.


Leave a Reply

