Goodies and Addis

I’ve lots to show you this time… DH “abandoned” me last week to go on a business trip to the US. He spent most of his time in California and, unusually, stayed over-night in San Francisco – usually he’s in San Jose. So, I sent him to Artfibers in the downtown area with a bit of a shopping list. Here’s what he came back with:

1295 yards or so of Andromeda, a fingering weight yarn with the snuggliest feel; and 818 yards of Golden Chai, a thick & thin slinky looking yarn with gorgeous tones. The Andromeda is destined to become a top-down v-neck, based on “Gathered Pullover” from Interweave Knits Winter ’07. I’m not yet decided on what to do with the Golden Chai but whatever it is it will be another garment for me.

DH must have enjoyed yarn-shopping because a few days later he went into Green Planet Yarn in Cambell, completely off his own bat. The shop only opened five days before – I don’t think she’s even on Ravelry yet, at least I can’t find her. You can see from her web-site she tries to source only yarn that has a good or green ethos. DH bought 4 skeins of Mirasol Miski (100% baby llama, from Peru) in blue and two in wine. I already had one skein in the blue, that I got in This is Knit – for swatching purposes, you understand – would you believe they’re the same dye-lot? So now I can actually make something – possibly a wrap / bolero, again for me!

 The shop owner, a lovely woman & very helpful – according to DH, threw in a few freebies as well: a sample of some Tofutsies yarn (don’t you just love the warning?); a “footies” pattern that uses Tofutsies and these metal buttons – they have the map of America embossed on them. 

The kids were not forgotten in the swag bag – two t-shirts for them.

What do you think of my Jaywalkers? Undulating Rib socks by Ann Budd from Favorite socks, actually. The “chevron” is thanks to my Addi getting caught in a car door – ouch!

 

2 Responses to “Goodies and Addis”

  1. Yvonne Says:

    Ouch, the poor addi. But lots of lovely yarn to compensate!

  2. Clara Says:

    I think you should frame your addi “Art”


Leave a Reply

