Which WIP for the WWKIP

It’s the eve (when I started this) of WWKIP and I’ve fallen out with all of my WIPs.

  • GlenvAAArrgh! (appropriately titled) a.k.a. my rehashing reworking of Debbie Bliss’s cabled cardigan has reached an impasse. I worked out the maths based on 210 stitches around without thinking about how the paring of the cables and ribs (a pattern repeat of 10 stitches) from the sholder seams down means I have to work on the basis on either 200 or 220 stitches around. I join the underarms based on 200 stitches in what, I fear, will turn out to be a rash decision. I am waiting for his nibs to try it on before I continue much further. Off to the hibernation den in the meantime…
  • I agreed with Caroline / Bootie (blog-free) from our Swords Knit-Nights that I’d join her in a mini-kal for some stranded mittens. I’m doing EZ’s Norwegian Mittens and she’s doing Eunny Jang’s Anomoie (sp?). We agreed to cast-on on Sunday or Monday, which I did… sort of. I knit up the i-chord border and started to pick-up stitches and stopped. I need to figure out who I’m knitting these for – me or my dd. I need to figure out some maths if it’s for my dd. I need to be sure of the patterns too. I just need to give these some thought but sitting down and focusing on them is way-down on my priority list.
  • I cast-on some toe-up socks from my new, fabulous, Cat Bordhi book: New Pathways for Sock Knitters. I’m trying the pontoon toe for the first time and not loving it, plus I dropped a stitch, plus the two socks don’t match in their striping at all. I’m tempted to rip back and do the toe from Back to Basics – that was a nice toe – but I’m feeling underpressure time-wise for my SAM5KAL credit. And there I was hoping to knit two pairs of socks in June to try to catch up!!! If I can just find that pesky dropped stitch I think these are my best option for a KIP WIP.

So what do you do when you fall out of love with your WIPs? You cast-on for another one, of course. I started a swatch for my long-promised Tomato by Wendy Bernhard from No Sheep for You. If I don’t knit this soon it will be too cold to wear it for another year.

I was also unable to get stuck into the Scavenger Hunt organised by TIK. I entered and got the list of challenges last Friday. My first impulse was to go for the big points and get in contact with The North County Leader to be interviewed. However, the cold light of Monday morning struck and faced with school-runs, house-work and a lack of a printer for the flyer (that’s meant to feature in each photograph) I never got going.

Instead, I did other Missionary work for the conversion of all to Knitting: the mother of a boy in my dd’s class mentioned that she did some knitting in the past. (In fact, she’s of a very high pedigree in that her mother owned a yarn shop in Edinburgh. I didn’t want to reveal my obsessiveness too early, so I restrained myself from quizzing her up and down about what yarn shop exactly, but I will find out…) Anyway, I admitted to being a knitter and we’ve chatted on and off since about how nice it is. The other day she told me that because of me she felt compelled to take up the needles again and was attempting a scarf but with the only needles she could find: a mis-matched pair. The next time I saw her I gave her the set of plastic needles that I’d bought in Aldi a while back for no better reason than they were for sale. I’d had in the back of my mind to give them to my niece for her birthday but the other part of the back of my mind kept telling me she wouldn’t really appreciate it – not as much as an Averil Lavigne CD, let’s say. This born-again-knitter, on the other, was genuinely thrilled – which gave me a feeling of enormous satisfaction.

I’m giving myself a Knitting Scout badge for my efforts: The “Proselytize Knitting” Badge.  DH more than me has earned the The “MacGyver” Badge (Level Two) for using my metal 4mm double-pointed needle as a depth check when he was putting in the sand blinding for paving he’s doing in our front.

    

Leave a Reply

