Choosey Tuesday Two

I’m in a right pickle this time: yet again my enthusiasm has over-shot my ability and Real-Life has plans for my knitting time.

Yesterday evening I was grabbed with the notion of partaking in the Ravelympics. The challenge is to knit something from start to finish while the Olympics are underway – 08/08/08 to 24/08/08 (17 days). The rules are:

  1. The project must be a challenge for you to complete in 17 days.
  2. No casting on before Opening Ceremonies commence in Beijing.
  3. Finish before the flame goes out.
  4. You may swatch before the games. (This is considered as “training.”)

Cool! What to knit is not the problem. Completing a pair of socks in 17 days is definately challenging for me. Which socks to knit is not the problem either. I’m having a ball with Cat Bordhi’s book (I’ll show you my latest two pairs from the book in another post, I promise) so I could make-it-up-as-I-go-along (shock/horror!). I could even go with the Up-Down Spiral Socks (Rav Link) that I mentioned before, though I suspect that working with two colours might be too time-consuming and therefore not do-able in time.

The problem is when am I going to knit this AND all the other things I want to knit AND go back to work on 1st August! The answer – I can’t. Hence, I must choose. If I want to partake in the Ravelympics I need to clear the decks by 8th August. So here’s a list of the other things I want to knit:

  1. Finish the current pair of Sockathon socks – just completing the 1st heel but they’re two-at-a-time so I’m half-way there;
  2. A secret project – a certain pattern that has been knocking around for a year that I’m arrogant enough to think a certain knitting magazine might be interested in. Thing is, it still needs a lot of work to be perfected.
  3. A scarf for my sister’s birthday (mid-August). OTOH I did this last year and I have other ideas for presents so I might just give this a miss;
  4. GlenvAarrgh – I’m approaching the one-year anniversary of D-day for this project, where D stands for Disaster. I had hoped to celebrate by conquering the pattern.
  5. There are other things, but this isn’t WIP-pawade Wednesday, it’s Choosey Tuesday so…

Now that I’ve written it down it seems obvious that I should finish the socks then focus on the secret project. Then… perhaps GlenvAargh should be my Ravelympics project in the WIPs Wrestling Event. Sounds like I have another Choosey Tuesday post in the pipeline. Stay tuned…

Leave a Reply

