Yesterday

Yesterday was tough. We went to the baby’s funeral. Seeing his father cradle that tiny white coffin in the crook of one arm, as you might carry a sleeping baby, was heart-breaking. Through-out the whole thing my friend clutched a little, hand-knit, blue hat. She clutched it like it was a life-line, which it was I guess. She cherishes that hat so much. Just holding it seemed to give her enough strength to get through the day.

To the knitter who made this hat, and donated it for premature babies, I want to say “thank you”. I witnessed, first-hand, how much your craft and your efforts meant to a distraut mother. There are healing powers in those hats. Perhaps not enought for a little mite born so soon, but already it is helping my friend with her pain. 

Today…

Today, I spent with Claire & Mary (you may know them as Clarabel and Fezzik) dyeing skeins of Suri Alpaca at my house. It was a lot of mess and a lot of fun. I’m glad I had people to share the experience with or it would have been just mess and no fun.

Mary took some photos of the results. Hopefully, I can post them here soon. We got some beautiful colourways but we all agreed: we won’t be starting “The North Dublin Dye Company” anytime soon. If you want beautiful colourways, done by a professional, check out Dublin Dye Company and talk to Lisa.

Tomorrow, while I think of it, I must try to get to my local Post Office. They have a package waiting for me for almost a week now. I assume it’s sock-yarn I ordered online from P2tog. Now that I’m back at work it’s very hard to get to the Post-Office during the day. My lunch break is 12:45 to 14:00 and theirs is 13:00 to 14:15. Plus it takes 15 mins to drive from my work to the PO.

I think I may have to have a “site-visit” for a little while in the morning and swing by there on my way to work. Say nothing… I’m very hard-working, really I am – very conscientious about tax-payers money being used efficiently and transparently but… it’s yarn… and it’s waiting – you understand, don’t you?

2 Responses to “Yesterday”

  1. Irene Says:

    At the I Knit Day in London my sister gave me the first push to start making these little sets of garments when she produced leaflets for the charity to donate to. Your poignant description has given me another push. Thank you.

  2. Sinéad Says:

    I’m so sorry to hear of your friends loss. I don’t know what to say, it’s heartbreaking.


Leave a Reply

