Fibre keeps you Regular!

Remember my regular features? No? Yeah, me neither – that’s why they haven’t been happening all that often lately. That, and the fact that I’m back at work full-time so regular blogging is way down on my priority list in the evenings.

Anyway, ancient annals record that Tuesday’s are “choose-day”: I review my queue and choose what next to do. Usually outside forces are at work and my choice is often dictated for me, rather than being entirely of my own volition. The approaching pressure-front this time is the Irish Knitters Weekend Retreat and the mini-KALS we’ve set up for the attendees.

Some Background: There are fifteen of us travelling to the beautiful Craig Country House in Craughwell, Co. Galway for a weekend of knitting and fun in  mid-October. We’ll also be given an introduction to Spinning by Diane (a.k.a Chic with Stix), a member of the Irish Guild of Spinners, Dyers and Weavers, while we’re there. I’m one of the organisers of this event. As a way of helping members to gel and get to know each other in advance of the event we set up a group on Ravelry and set up two mini-KALs.

KAL 1. Each of us is to knit a square that we’re going to sew together into a blanket. The only rules are that the final size has to be 150 x 150mm (6″ x 6″); using Kilcarra Aran Tweed; and you can use any stitch pattern or method you like but the finished square has to say something about you.

Not a lot of knitting. I have my yarn already – you’ve read about me “liberating” it here! But how to express my essence in knitting? Answers on a postcard please – or below in the comments, if you like! (What Pandora’s Box am I opening here?)

KAL 2. One of the other members of the organizing committee, SusyMcQ, suggested we should commemmorate the inaugral Irish Knitting Retreat by getting into the Knitty calander. The rules for this are that you have to use a Knitty pattern. Ergo we have an KAL for knitting an Urchin. This KAL is optional. Those who are up for it will assemble to be photographed, Urchin-clad, in an appropriate setting by the seashore. That’s the plan.

I knit one before using Debbie Bliss SoHo. Of course I didn’t swatch and the hat was way too small. It looked like a beanie rather than a beret! I wore it anyway. I planned to use my remaining balls of the same yarn to try again in the bigger size. Then I saw Susy’s one on our Rav group and decided instead to free-cycle some yarn from this sad affair:

How to kill a lace pattern

How to kill a lace pattern

Nice yarn, shame about the use
Nice yarn, shame about the use

I loved the yarn and I loved the pattern. Sadly, they did not love each other. The yarn is by Craftspun and is efficiently titled “Multi”. The pattern is from “Natural Knits for Babies and Mums”. It’s a nursing cover but I always found it too wide and bulky to wear as a scarf. I never wore it out, so I never had when I might need a nursing cover. It used four skeins of yarn. I think I’ll only need less than one for a very nice Urchin. The rest – a matching scarf, perhaps.

Lest we forget, there’s still the Sock-a-month KAL  and my self-inflicted Sock-a-thon-thing. I’m all ball-wound and ready to go on a pair of Master Coriolis Socks by Cat Bordhi. I’ve chosen these because I want need my October socks to be quick-knits. It’s also a really cool pattern. So, even though mid-October looms and the mini-KALs deadline is closer I’m opting for the Socks – quelle suprise!

One Response to “Fibre keeps you Regular!”

  1. Sinéad Says:

    It’s such a shame I can’t make the knitters retreat. It sounds like it’s going to be great fun! I can’t wait to see your knitty photo!


Leave a Reply

