With one Felting I was free!

I arrived back this evening from a fabulous, indulgent weekend with fellow knitters at the inaugral Irish Knitters Retreat (more about this later, it’s deserving of a separate post) and I discovered that DH has been doing laundry. Experience has proven this is rarely a good thing.

Sure enough, in the middle of the pile of recently tumble-dried clothes was… yup, you know what’s coming next… a pair of his socks. Nicely felted and shrunk until they almost, but don’t quite, fit me.

You know, accidents happen. I understand that. It happens to the best of us. So, I cheerily presented him with the felted socks with “Oooh, you made me a pair of socks!”. All I got was “Oh, sorry”. Not “OMG, I can’t believe this has happened to my gorgeous socks, that you spent so long knitting, frogging, redesigning, and knitting again for me. This is such a tragedy… I’m just devastaed… Is there anything that can be done to save them?”

No, just

“Oh”

“sorry” (with a small s)

I was under the impression that the socks I was knitting were cherished. I thought he’d be devasted at the demise of a pair. I’m obviously operating, and knitting, under a delusion.

The upside is, I release myself from my committment to knit him a pair of socks a month this year. I informed him of this. He said sorry with a small “s” again. I will finish the current pair of Coriolis and give them to him. After all, he did look after my three children for the entire weekend so I could frolic with fibre. He deserves that much.

But after that, I’m officially free – the next socks I knit are for meeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!

10 Responses to “With one Felting I was free!”

  1. Sinéad Says:

    I’m dying to hear about the weekend, I would have loved to go. Maybe next year.
    Your poor socks! I’d be heartbroken! If that were me that would be the end of hubby socks. Al least not unless they’re washable yarn.

  2. Yvonne Says:

    Next time, use superwash 🙂 I think all boy stuff I knit will be superwash, for this reason. I’ve also given DH a rule of not washing my hand knits. And enjoy knitting socks for you!

  3. Averil Says:

    Yay for guilt free sock knitting for you!

    I´m dying to hear how the weekend went too!

  4. GaietyGirl Says:

    Men! Argh!

    Any ideas for next year then? XD

  5. Clarabel Says:

    D my dear, they are his children too! but they are too pretty not to finish!
    I guess this means you’ll want your sock book back so you can knit for you……

  6. undermeoxter Says:

    In my defence, these socks have been in and out of the washing-machine safely many times. It was the tumble-drying wot dun ’em in. In his defence, he’s not allowed to do any laundry, let alone hand-knits, but he wanted to be helpfull. Also, he says he didn’t know they were in there.

    I chided him some more this morning about his lack of anguish and he said he was crying on the inside. He provided a tragi-comic “Waah!” to cover himself. I felt he redeemed himself somewhat and I have capitulated: I will knit him socks again in the future but I’m not going out of my way to get the out-standing 5 pairs done in the remaining two months of this year.

    The post about the Irish Knitters Retreat will follow later in the week. I had to stay late for a meeting with Residents this evening, plus I’ve a mini-hat to finish for The BIG Knit.

  7. viola Says:

    Oh dear. But at least you can do guilt-free sock knitting for yourself now!

    DH is getting one pair of socks (yes, I’ve been working on them for months now, no, they probably won’t be finished for Christmas…) And he’s only getting a second pair if he appreciates and treats them right.
    (I’m expecting not to have to ever knit him a second pair – he is, after all, the man who said not long after we got together “never love me that much that you feel you have to knit me a jumper”…)

  8. heather Says:

    yeah… best thing is to make him wait for ’em. i had crocheted a very fine soft alpaca hat for my fella… and in a few months it was left in a taxi. and he never even tried to call the company. i’m sure it sat in a lost and found box.

    anyway! i just made him WAIT to get the next hat. i started it, and kinda left it half done till he was asking about it, repeatedly.

    i don’t know if i was doing it consciously… but i think he has a sense of how long it takes.

  9. Retreat! Retreat! « Under Me Oxter - coz that’s how I knit Says:

    […] indeed Ceire, what plans have we for next year? I, for one, can’t wait to find […]

  10. GaietyGirl Says:

    You looking for recruits then?
    Or are you just going to tell people that they’ve volunteered come new year? :p


Leave a Reply

