Spring is sprung

Der spring is sprung
Der grass is riz
I wonder where dem boidies is?

Der little boids is on der wing.
Ain’t dat absoid?
Der little wings is on der boid!

Anonymous (New York). “The Budding Bronx,” quoted in Arnold Silcock, Verse and Worse (1952).

DH noticed these flowers growing in our garden and called them Blue Bells. Without looking at them, I corrected him (as only a wife can!) and told him they were Hyacinths.

Of course, as soon as I *did* look at them I realised I was wrong – for once! It’s not often he gets one over on me (or so I like to think) so I’m letting him milk this one!

One Response to “Spring is sprung”

  1. undermeoxter Says:

    DH would like me to add (in the interest of historical accuracy – no, he’s not dictating to me – what makes you think that?) that after I informed him they were Hyacinths that he pointed out “Well they look like bells to me!”. He claims he then invited me to get out of the car and see for myself; which I declined and maintained my erroneous delusion.

    … he’s happy now…


Leave a Reply

