Milestones


milk teeth

Originally uploaded by dmaxi

I still remember the first moment I clapped eyes on her. She was face-to-face with me but upside-down and with one eye closed – staring at me and the strangeness of it all. I had just enought time to say “Hello, Sweetheart” before she was whisked off to be weighed or washed or whatever it is they do to Newborns. I had to wait another half-hour, while they sewed me up, before I got to see her again.

The Milestones come fast and furious at the beginning, don’t they? First feed, first nappy-change, first puke-up-all-over-you, first poo-all-the-way-up-the-back… delightful. Then they slow-down to a more manageable pace: first smile (man, it’s a thankless and seemingly endless task before that one happens!), first solids, first steps.

Now that she’s six, the Milestones don’t come around too often at all. After “First Day At School” losing her first tooth is one of the biggies, isn’t it?

The Tooth-fairy is extortionate these days – the one cent piece in the picture is for scale, believe me. After we recently inadvertently blew the whole “Easter Bunny cover-up” story wide-open we feel we’ve got to make amends.

Don’t let me start thinking about the next Milestones on the way. I know only too well how fast they’ll come rushing into our lives, as my little daughter grows in to a young woman all too soon.

2 Responses to “Milestones”

  1. Sinéad Says:

    Aw, the first tooth loss. A special moment. Make the most of the really cute gappy smile photos for future bribery! Oh and I know what you mean about the extortionat tooth fairy, my daughters tooth came out while on holidays in Florida, that baby cost me $10!

  2. Carol Says:

    My mother-in-law saved all my husband’s baby teeth. She brought them out, like relics of St. Thomas,in the midst of dessert after a holiday dinner one year and proudl displayed them to us. Needless to say, I lost my appetite for dessert after being shown 40-year-old baby teeth… (;


Leave a Reply

