Baby Surprise!

I bet you’re thinking only really big news could bring me back to my blog after such a long hiatus.

You’d be right!

So… I have some big, baby-related news for you, dear Reader. But first, I guess I ought to quit the messing and clarify that I’m not expecting! It’s even an even bigger, better baby-surprise than that.

Do you remember the awful story I told you here about my friend’s terrible disappointment over a year ago, when her son was born at only 23 weeks and survived just 9 hours? Would you believe she gave birth to a baby girl last September? As you can imagine everyone was on tenterhooks during the pregnancy, especially since they were never given an explanation for why she went into labour so early last time. In the end – and she went to full term – everything went smoothly. Mother and baby are doing well since – she’s beginning to sleep through the night.

Naturally, to celebrate impending arrival I had to make a Baby-Surprise Jacket. I used Wendy Happy – 100% Bamboo sock yarn – so it’s absolutely tiny. I believe it fitted her for her first week. However, I’ve loads of it left so I’m planning on making a larger one with the remaining yarn double-stranded and using bigger needles.

The colour-way is Virgo – of course, considering her due-date. It came out so “Strawberry Shortcake” that I had to track down some matching buttons.

2 Responses to “Baby Surprise!”

  1. Bridget Says:

    I’m so glad you are back! I was hoping that all was well.

    Congratulations to your friends, what happy news! I wish them all kinds of happiness and good health in their adventures as a family.

  2. Averil Says:

    Ah that’s great!

    Love the buttons.


Leave a Reply

