Wednesday’s WIP-Pawade

When I mentioned recently that I had very few WIPs languishing I was lying – to myself! I had completely forgotten about this:

It’s a pair of crochet socks from the last copy of Interweave Crochet – Adirondacks Socks. I’ve been interested in crochet socks for a while but most patterns that I came across were just a bit too “out-there” for a first go at it. This pattern, on the other hand, is just the ticket. On the same day that my copy of Interweave Crochet arrived in the post, a parcel also arrived from my favourite ebay shop P2tog. It contained – amongst other things – a ball of Schoppel-Wolle Zauberball in this lovely colourway “Blackberry”. It was meant to be, don’t you think?

I am just loving the colours and how they change as they move along the pattern. I’m loving the pattern too and I’ve learned two new crochet stitches into the bargin: foundation double crochet (what an ingenious stitch to start things off?) and extended single crochet, which is used on the sole.

I had got as far as starting the toe on the first sock when I put this away to focus on some knitting for Christmas presents. I am such a one-WIP-wonder it went out of mind as soon as it was out of sight. I’ll pick it up again as soon as I physically can – my feet are yearning for these socks.

Leave a Reply

