My Known Unknowns

After toying with the idea for a while I finally bit the bullet and opted for a new theme. I’d love to hear what you think. Too pink? Too bright? Too much the same?

There were a lot of things about the layout of my old theme that I liked: the side bars on either side; flexible width; straight-forward, simple arrangement; cool, calm tones. But it was… grey. Anyone who knows me in real-life knows I don’t do grey. I don’t do neutral colours at all, much to the despair of the painters I hire to paint my home:

There’s always a sharp intake of breath when they open the tin; they proceed to disassociate themselves from the colour choice; they offer anecdotes that invariably reference crazy women whose houses they’ve painted before; they complain bitterly and strongly advise I rethink my choices.

Slowly, they begin to warm to the idea – it’s easy for them to tell what they’ve painted and what they haven’t; they admit strong colours can feel warm and comforting; they consider using the same colours in their own bedrooms. By the end of their efforts they congratulate me in taking their advice and eschewing those insipid neutral tones.

I can customise the colours with this theme. So, if it’s not too disorienting, I might play around with the colours for a few days. I like that I can have a tag cloud but I’m worried it looks a bit frienzied. I also love that I now have a widget to show my flickr photos. However, I’ve seen some people have their flickr photos in a 3 x 3 or 3 x 4 grid and the images keep changing – how do they do that?

There’s a few other things that I still haven’t figured out how to do with my new theme and if you know, or can direct me towards where I can find out, I’d really appreciate it:

  1. How do I get the comments to appear directly under each post so that you, the reader, doesn’t have to click on a link to read them?
  2. How do I put an image of my own as my header? I’ve seen many people who change theirs frequently – with the seasons or as the humour takes them.
  3. Where do I get those clever bar graphs for the percentage of progress being made on various WIPs?
  4. Every so often I see people saying “take a button for your blog”. How do I do that – the Ravelry button for starters? 
  5. If I want to set up a blogroll of all the people whose blogs I read regularly, do I have to track down and enter each site’s link? Or is there some quick way of transferring my list from google reader to here?

These are my “known unknowns”. All I know is, there’s more that I know I don’t know; but I don’t know how much more I don’t know. Heh! heh! heh!

Leave a Reply

