A thing of beauty

My big task, for my day off work, was to begin to get to grips with a weekly meal plan and routine shopping lists.

Well, I began anyway:

Meal Planner from MealsMatter.org

I spent a while staring at my mess of recipe books and scribbled shopping lists, wishing there was some computer programme that would make sense of it all. What I needed was something like Ravelry, but for cooking: I could put in my own recipes; give them tags like “quickie” or “slow-cooker” so I could re-organise them each week as time demanded; I could search for recipes to suit the ingredients I have. Most importantly, the computer programme would assemble my shopping list for me, based on the recipes I’ve chosen for the week.

After a quick search I found MealsMatters.org. It’s not as easy to use as Ravelry. It could do with a bit of Casey’s magic. But… I haz Lisstsss! I Luvs Lists, me!

Now all I have to do is brave the cold and rain and… hmmm… what if this programme were to interact with one of the websites for online grocery shopping. The hunter-gatherer in me is happily hanging up her coat and scarf.

6 Responses to “A thing of beauty”

  1. Viola Says:

    And this post needs a Ravelry-esque ‘love’ button!

    Hmmm… I think I know what I’ll be playing with this evening… (especially now that we are ‘mumble mumble’ Euro a month less well off….)

    • undermeoxter Says:

      It took me a while to get used to navigating around but it was worth it. I did a shop the following day and have cooked a meal on each night since. So far so good, but I still have to plan next week…

  2. Bridget Says:

    What a great tool! I had no idea something like this even existed. See – your blog is a learning tool. 🙂

    • undermeoxter Says:

      I was thinking it was a site that could benefit a lot of people. What I haven’t tried yet is uploading all the info to my Google Calander (the “iCal” function). That might be a step too far in planning, no?

  3. Clara Says:

    This was my task for the evening. You saved me

    • undermeoxter Says:

      I’m looking forward to hearing how you get on with this. I’ve entered three recipes (nearly said patterns!) but I haven’t been able to contribute one since – very frustrating.
      I hope I’m not giving people a bum-steer with this site. It’s got a good database of recipes already, however.


Leave a Reply

