Muse on Monday

Muse[myooz]  
–noun
1.
Classical Mythology.
a.
any of a number of sister goddesses, originally given as Aoede (song), Melete (meditation), and Mneme (memory), but latterly and more commonly as the nine daughters of Zeus and Mnemosyne who presided over various arts: Calliope (epic poetry), Clio (history), Erato (lyric poetry), Euterpe (music), Melpomene (tragedy), Polyhymnia (religious music), Terpsichore (dance), Thalia (comedy), and Urania (astronomy); identified by the Romans with the Camenae.
b.
any goddess presiding over a particular art.
2.
(sometimes lowercase) the goddess or the power regarded as inspiring a poet, artist, thinker, or the like.
3.
(lowercase) the genius or powers characteristic of a poet.
–verb (used without object)
1.
to think or meditate in silence, as on some subject.
2.
Archaic. to gaze meditatively or wonderingly.
–verb (used with object)
3.
to meditate on.
4.
to comment thoughtfully or ruminate upon.

Muse = The genius or powers characteristic of a poet

Don’t forget my Ban-zai Bonanza. Write a Haiku and win a great* prize *even if I say so myself!   

Musing = Comment thoughtfully or ruminate upon

Don’t be expecting too much from me here. Ruminating is for cows and other four-stomached animals, isn’t it? I’ve got a busy life to lead that isn’t about where my next feed of grass is at; or how much milk I’ve produced today. Not anymore, anyway – thank goodness! However, I do think I should assess how well I did with the tasks I set myself to do in the past week.

  1. sort out my weekly meal planners / grocery shopping list so I can get back into grocery shopping regularly.  – Yeay, for me – I did this with the aid of mealsmatters.org. I did a shop and cooked all the meals accordingly. I know have an empty fridge – which I think is a good thing – and I’m all set to do the same next week.
  2. Start writing Christmas Cards – Boo for me! – I didn’t even so much as pull out my list of who sent me Christmas Cards last year. However, I have bought cards so I’m well on my way…
  3. Actually do something from my list of gardening jobs for December – Errr… it was cold… the ground was water-logged… the dogs ate my shovel… and my sequtares…
  4. Knit some Christmas Ornaments for a Sale of Work in our office – Yeay, for me – I’ve made five of my “Advent Wreaths with Bling” today and a hairy fun-fur/ novelty yarn tree. Most importantly!!!! I’ve used up ALL of the skank-ey yarn in the process. So my knitting friends can stop disowning me now – okay, Caroline & Claire???
  5. Post off my Secret Santa Swap parcel (yes, I can see this one getting done anyway!) – Boo, for me – surprisingly I didn’t do this one yet. The only thing that’s holding it up was a bit of hand-knitted-Pride álà Debbie New but I’m a bit wary of whether it’s sufficiently pride-worthy. I’m aiming to post it tomorrow.

I’m giving myself a 2&1/2 out of 5 – 50% success rate. Could do better. Next week? !?! – oooh… you’re a harsh audience…    

  1. Post off my Secret Santa Swap parcel
  2. Prune something! anything! just get outside with something sharp and weild it about until things fall down!!!
  3. Write Christmas Cards – no “start” about it any more! The blummin’ things have got to go in the post this week!
  4. Christmas gift knitting – to be cogitated on in a later post. Choosey Tuesday, anyone?
  5. Christmas gift shopping – ought to be fun and festive; looking forward to this one.

 

A-muse = Entertaining

All credit to… Serendipity but I couldn’t help but be amused when – almost immediately after I’d published yesterday’s post about making an Advent Wreath – I opened the Magazine Section of the paper to discover this article:   

Click on the image for a link to "how-to"

You wanna Wreath???

 

B-muse = Confusing

The Earl is two now – how time flies?! So he’s at an age where he’s completely bemused by all these Christmas traditions that – from his point of view – we’re doing for the first time. He got over the notion of “Trees Come Inside” pretty quickly. He’s still bewildered by the whole concept of the Crib. For starters he keeps referring to the figurine of the Baby Jesus – wrapped in swaddling clothes and lying in a manger – as “Sheep”. Well… I can understand it; it’s all white and has four legs. After all, being his mother’s son, sheep are his favourite animal. It was when he decided to give the Holy Family a bath in his cup of milk that we felt we should intervene.

One Response to “Muse on Monday”

  1. Sinéad Says:

    50% is not a bad success rate! If I achieved half of what I was supposed to do each week I’d be happy.
    Funny about the wreath in the paper! I bet theirs wasn’t as nice either 😉


Leave a Reply

