Sunday Miscellany

Santa's been

This is my favourite time of year – this week between Christmas and New Year. There’s been so much focus on getting everything done for Christmas Day that it’s like you’ve been snuck an extra week. It’s time to take stock; to catch up – with other people who are “home” or with jobs that have been put on-hold; to review what you’ve got done and make plans for what you’d like to do. I tend to hibernate a little; I eat lots, lie-in for as long as I can get away with and hardly venture out at all except to go for nice walks locally.

I realised recently that there’s really only 11 months in the year – with December being entirely given over to Christmas. Similarly, there’s really only 51 weeks for getting things done; with this week being devoted to planning how to spend the next 51. In reality, any plans you make have to be front-loaded. A builder-friend of mine wisely says that if something hasn’t been done by May you can forget about it for the rest of the year. In his case it’s because he’s heavily involved in the GAA – whose season really gets going in May – but it’s sage advice, none the less.

House Plans

  1. January (4 weeks) – Re-organise play-room storage: panelling to walls, buy storage system from IKEA, cull toys – old to charity / broken to dump
  2. February & March (8 weeks, 5 – 12) – New Deck: Get builder in to demolish garage and build a deck; change boiler to high-condensing gas boiler
  3. April & May (9 weeks, 13 – 21) – DD’s Bedroom furniture: design & get built / research & order it in time for her birthday at the end of May
  4. June (4 weeks, 22 – 25) – finish building Bar-B-Que: use bricks reclaimed from demolishing garage
  5. July & August (9 weeks, 26 – 34) – mainly spent gardening, by which I really mean – in the garden
  6. September & October (9 weeks, 35 – 43) – Refurbish bathroom: rip it out, install tanking membrane, start again
  7. November (4 weeks, 44 – 47) – Planning permission for refurb of 2011: possibly started earlier in the year, but ready to lodge this month
  8. December (4 weeks, 48 – 51) – Christmas preparations underway so forget about trying to do much else!

Knitting Plans

Since I’m in list-making-mode, I think you’d be amazed – and disappointed – if I didn’t do a similar exercise with all the plans for my WIPs and Stash that I have buzzing around my head. The thing that I find about drawing up a programme is it’s already out of date by the time it’s printed, or in this case, published. But anyway, here goes:

  1. Finish Glenvar-Agin for DH – allow 4 weeks (January weeks 1 – 4)
  2. Finish Adirondack Socks – allow 2 weeks (February weeks 5 & 6)
  3. Knit Ishbel for me using skein of Natrual Dye Company bought at I Knit Weekender – allow 1 week (February week 7)
  4. Knit hat for co-working in King Cole 100% Merino 4 ply – allow 1 week (February week 8 )
  5. The Ravelympics are on between February 12th – 28th; they start Friday of week 6 and continue until the end of week 8. So I’m aiming for three medals in the following events: WIPs-Dancing (Adirondack Socks), Short  Track Shawl (Ishbel) and Hat Half-pipe (Hat for Co-worker)
  6. Top-down cardigan for DD in variagated blue Lamb’s Pride – allow 4 weeks (March weeks 9 – 12)
  7. Brown cotton jumper for DS1 – allow 4 weeks (April weeks 13 – 17)
  8. Cropped wrap-cardigan for me in Purple Manos del Uruguay – allow 4 weeks (May weeks 18 – 21)
  9. Presents for teachers x 2 – allow 2 weeks each (June 22 – 25)
  10. 2 pairs of socks for DH birthday – allow 6 weeks (July & August weeks 26 – 31)
  11. Go to a Knitting Meet-up in Stirling or London or Estonia and meet some online knitting friends
  12. Stash bust to make a shrug in Tunisan Crochet with Koigu or Malabrigo  – allow 3 weeks (August weeks 32 – 34)
  13. Top-down coat from Fitted Knits in Colinette Prism – allow 4 weeks (September weeks 35 – 38)
  14. Oroborus October  – allow 4 weeks(39 – 43)
  15. November (4 weeks, 44 – 47) – taken up with Charity or Christmas Knitting
  16. December (4 weeks, 48 – 51) – Christmas preparations underway so forget about trying to do much else!

Wow! I’ve tried to be as realistic as possible but I’ll be mightily impressed if I get all this done. I haven’t allowed any contingency plan for the inevitable distraction of knitting patterns that are published in the mean-time. There’s still a lot of stash left to work through so I’m also putting myself on a strict yarn-diet – you heard it here first.

Pick a Name... any name...

And now… Drumroll Please!…

You see before you a hat. Just an ordinary hat (if you ignore that it was hand-knit with great care).

But not an empty hat. In this hat, I have placed four pieces of paper. And on each piece of paper I have written a name.

Each name is the name of someone who entered a haiku in the great Ban-zai Bonanza!

In just a few moments, I – with the aid of my able-bodied and beautiful assistant, DD – shall pull a name from this hat. Prepare to be amazed advised.

Win-win

Lotteries on a blog, eh? Kinda like dancing on the radio! Tune in tomorrow to find out who wins this great prize…

  • Judy Sumner’s book “Knitted Socks: East and West”;
  • 1  x Easy Knits Sushi Sock Roll – 100% Blue Faced Leicester in Harkness Green;
  • 1 x Noro Kureyon Sock Yarn – Col No.  S185;
  • Knitting Notions (stitch markers, row counter, bodkins);
  • needle case;
  • origami paper (not shown)
4 Responses to “Sunday Miscellany”

  1. Averil Says:

    Wow! Well decision is half the battle, so you’ve got that down. I’m still thinking of my knitting 10 for 2010 (I know it’s Jan. 1st..). It looks like a busy 2010 in the Dmaxi household!

    • undermeoxter Says:

      If decision is half the battle, writing it down feels like the other half. That would explain why I feel like it’s already job-done by the time I’ve finished the list. I’m too pooped to contemplate actually following-through!

  2. Choosing Temptation « Under Me Oxter – coz that’s how I knit Says:

    […] Sticking to them is quite another. Ignoring all the shiny distractions that have nothing to do with the list  – such as… oh… joining Sock-a-Month KAL 9 – takes much determination. I […]

  3. January Round-Up « Under Me Oxter – coz that’s how I knit Says:

    […] 1 Major House task – complete (despite the above) […]


Leave a Reply

