The WIPs get whupp’d

Knitting up a Whirlwind

So “knitting like the clappers” = “very limited blogging time”. This is just a sneak preview to show that I’m happy with my decision from yesterday’s choice.

I’ve put in the spare yarn for the thumb-trick at this stage, but I’m sceptical about whether it’s going to work with the stitch pattern. I’ve learned – the hard way – that you can’t just pick-up and knit in the opposite direction when you’re in ribbing. I’ve a feeling, since I’m working with a single travelling stitch, that the wrong-side might not seem so much like ribbing and I might just get away with it. At the very least, I’m going to learn something – the hard way – again!

I’m hoping to be sufficiently advanced, by tomorrow, to be able to give you a guided tour of what I did to make these mittens by adapting Wooly Wormhead’s pattern for the Elsica Hat. Perhaps even a “how-to” for knitting two-at-a-time. For now though, it’s all talk; and if I don’t get back to the knitting that’s all it’ll ever be.

One Response to “The WIPs get whupp’d”

  1. Sinéad Says:

    Cool mittens!
    Happy New Year to you and your family. You’ve been so productive over the last couple of weeks I don’t know where to start with my comments! Suffice to say you’re a busy bee!
    Oh and I love the Haiku you wrote about my prodigal sock. I wish I could have thought of that!


Leave a Reply

