WIP-it or Rip-it?

So when I fell off Monogamy Wagon last week, and succumbed to a bout of Startitis, I cast-on for a pair of coffee-mug cozies or as DS1 calls them “Coats for Cups” – makes sense!

Now, as “Kneehigh” puts it, in a recent meme on her blog, I was “too clever to follow the pattern, and ballsed it up alone”. (No surprise there!) Instead of using Emily Ocker’s Circular beginning cast-on – like wha’ I woz ast to – I used Judy’s Magic Cast-on, just because I couldn’t be bothered to go find a crochet hook. So the start of the circular bases for my pair of cozies is loose and really not something to be proud of.

After finishing the circular bases, the pattern instructs you to start knitting forward and back. Knitting forward and back with a bit of circular knitting attached to one end is a little tricky – especially at the beginning – but not insurmountable.

However, I also decided to knit two cozies… at the same time. Sigh!

Knitting two-at-a-time in the round is fine. Knitting two-at-a-time over and back takes a bit of concentration; to make sure you don’t loose track of which one you’ve just knit and accidentally leave one behind. Knitting two-at-a-time over and back, with a bit of circular knitting attached to each and on too-short-a-cable-needle-for-comfort has turned my quick-knit (done before anyone realises I’m not being faithful to DH’s cardigan) into only being half-way after knitting for two nights!

Too Twit to Hoot

Now that I’m pretty-much exactly half-way I’ve had the genius brain-wave that if I want to knit two-at-a-time (on too-short a cable needle) I would get on better if I inverted the pattern: knit them from the top down. This would mean I do the flat-knitting over and back first; and then join in the round to complete the circlular bases. Also, this could mean I could decrease to eight stitches and just thread the tail through to fasten off. A Circular Ending to match Emily Ocker’s Circular Beginning.

Do I rip back and start again the other way up, in the hopes that it will be a quicker knit – or at least more enjoyable?

Or would I get back to Monogamy Central sooner if I plod on and struggle through to the end?

What would you do?

3 Responses to “WIP-it or Rip-it?”

  1. Máiréad Says:

    It’s great to see this while in progress – thank you so much. I love it!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. January Round-Up « Under Me Oxter – coz that’s how I knit Says:

    […] last time you saw these I was at an impasse – exactly at the half-way point I wondered whether I should rip back or go on. I decided to go for […]


Leave a Reply

