Ravelympics Tournament

The Events List for Ravelympics 2010 was posted up the other day. It’s got me all excited about what medals I’m going to try for this year. So your Tour this Thursday is all about my plans for the Ravelympics Tournament (see what I did there?). 

(Don’t know what I’m talking about? Take a look at this link and it might give you more of an idea.) 

So you might remember from my knitting list for 2010 I was thinking of three main projects over the 17 days. 

Blackberry Socks

WIPs Dancing Queen?

Events: WIPs Dancing and Sock Hockey 

Pattern: Adirondack Socks from Interweave Crochet Fall 2009 

Yarn: ShoppelWolle Zauberball in Blackberry 

This project has been languishing since The Knitting and Stitching Show last October, when a certain colour purple caught my eye and a whole new Glenvar got started. 

I absolutely love working with this yarn, so I can’t wait to get started again. 

 

 

Stella

King Cole Merino Blend in Pink

Events: Designer Bi-athlon and Hat Half-pipe 

Pattern: my own 

Yarn: King Cole Merino Blend in Pink 

The thing to bear for Ravelympics is “The One Rule To Rule Them All: Challenge yourself by starting and finishing projects during the 2010 Winter Olympics.”

 Writing and publishing a pattern of my own on Ravelry will be quite a challenge for me. I’m planning to give the pattern to P/Hop if I do manage this.

 

 Ishbel

Ishbel and Dazzle

Events: Short Track Shawls and Lace Luge 

Pattern: Ishbel from Whimsical Knits by Ysolda Teague

Yarn: Dazzle BFL by Natural Dye Studio 

I bought the yarn at I Knit Weekender in London last September with Ishbel in mind. Then, later that day, I won a copy of Whimsical Knits in the raffle that P/Hop were running. 

My Knit-night knitting buddies laughed heartily when they saw I had only allowed one week in my knitting calander to knit an Ishbel – one challenge too far, perhaps? 

Perusing the Events List I’m like a child in a sweet-shop. I want to enter into so many events: 

  • The Aerial Unwind Event could be a good one to pick up a few medals and I have two projects in need of frogging. Ravelympics might be just the thing to recapture some lovely yarn from the claws of defeat.
  • I have a skein of undyed cotton – also bought at I Knit Weekender last September – that I could enter in the Downhill Dyeing Event. I’ll need to organise myself with the proper dyes for dyeing cotton, however.
  • I might try for another WIPs Dancing Event. Below you’ll see a jacket that I’m wearing to death these days even though I don’t consider it to be finished. I feel it needs an additional collar all around the front edges. Again, the impetus of Ravelympics might be just the motivation I need to get the hook out again – if I haven’t collapsed in a heap by the end of February.

I have to be honest and admit that the overall challenge I’m setting myself is to collect as many medals as I can. By the above reckoning I count ten.

3 Responses to “Ravelympics Tournament”

  1. heather Says:

    I’ll be cheering you on from the sidelines: KNIT PURL KNIT!!! PURL, DMAXI, PURL YOU CAN DO EEEET!

    I *finally* tried the needle felting gear. I don’t know why the heck I didn’t make a go of it. I ADORE needle felting.

    Thanks so much for the kit.

    It’s way more shapeable than crochet. Even with small fibres in crochet it was hard to get detail.

    Having lots of fun.

    Here’s some pics on Flickr

    tiny one

    What do you think? Would you like one? I’d like to send one to you as a thank you! You can get a custom one. Just tell me what creature to do. Ronan asked me for a Yeti and a Swamp thing. I can do ‘real’ stuff too… 🙂

    Spinning left me dry… but this needle felting is the best thing ever. I have a nice collection growing.

    http://making.nearlythere.com/2010/01/22/welcoming-party-for-tilda/

    Good luck in your Olympics!

    • undermeoxter Says:

      I really appreciate the cheering-on. I’ll need all I can get; I forsee the going’s going to get tough for me.
      I love the collection of needle-felted animals. I’d be thrilled with receiving one – what ever you fancy. They’re all so adorable.

      Thanks!

  2. Razzle dazzle ‘em « Under Me Oxter – coz that’s how I knit Says:

    […] I initially thought “socks” but then it dawned on me that my skein of Dazzle was all balled up and ready for action for the Ishbel I’m planning in Ravelympics. […]


Leave a Reply

