Such a Perfect Day

Today couldn’t have started any better. While DH and the kids were frolicking in the swimming pool I snuck off to the Post Office and collected two parcels.

The first, emblazoned in Amazon logos, was no surprise. It contained “Knitting Brioche” by Nancy Marchant, which I had pre-ordered last September after seeing some samples of her work on the Dutch Knitters Stand at the I Knit Weekender. If the contents of the parcel were no surprise the contents of the book certainly were. I’m going to dedicate Monday’s Musing post to a more detailed review of this fantastic book.

Mmmm Brioche...

 The other parcel I collected was completely unexpected and it turned out to be a present from Fourboys. I want to give this more dedicated attention, so here’s a snap-shot of the contents for now and tune in again next Friday for the full “reveal”. In the meantime: check-out the cute crocheted amiguri animals on her cards.

Mmmm Goodies...

 So, as if that was enough to have me on a high, after swimming lessons we proceeded into Dublin City Centre “en famille”, where I was dropped off for a rendez-vous with the City Centre SnB group. I spent the next two hours in the delightful company of Diane, Karen, Harriet, Bairbre, Megan, Rosemary, Bríd, Ger and Ulke (? I’m sorry, I didn’t hear your name very well, and I’m sure I’d mis-spell it even if I had – Lacedup17 on Ravelry). What a thoroughly delightful bunch of women.

We were meeting for the first time in Café Bell, which shares a courtyard with a church: turn left at the Piéta (you think I’m joking, don’t you?!). Probably because of being located adjacent to a church, it is frequented by many elderly ladies – presumeably after Mass. They were obviously fascinated at our appearance and many came over (all of them making a bee-line for Ger, for some reason) to pass comments of delight and nostalgia at our endeavours. One be-skirted individual (an Alb, I’m reliably informed) commented that we looked liked nuns, minus the veils. Thankfully, he didn’t loiter for too much longer and we could reclaim our eyebrows from the ceiling. Anyway, the group meet on the 1st and 3rd Saturday of every month. I have visions of the ladies who showed such an interest, turning up next Saturday with their WIPs, wondering where all the “young-wans” have disappeared to.

And as if I hadn’t completely over-indulged myself already today, after we all packed up our things and said our good-byes, I waddled (somewhat Jabba-the-Hut-like, from all the self-indulgence) to This is Knit for a date with a skein of Malabrigo Lace. Oh yes!

In recognition of the panic-buying that was evident on the TIK thread on Ravelry – dedicated to the arrival of Malabrigo – I pm’d the Lovely Lisa of TIK and asked her to set aside a skein of (say it with hushed tones, in a gravel-ly voice) Amoroso. Terrible enabler that I am, I bought a skein for each of my knitting buddies too: Applewood for Bootie; and Emerald Blue for Clarabel (unless she prefers the Amoroso – I’m easy!) I kinda fell in love with the Emerald Blue when I saw it too. Post-rationalisation, anyone?

Mmmmalabrigo....

I also made the acquaintance of Kneehigh, Timiat and Iontach (Ravelry names), while I was loitering (yabbering) in TIK. I have no idea what it is like to take mind-altering drugs but the mental image I have of myself in TIK is similar to Spud from Trainspotting during his Interview. Blame it on the Malabrigo fumes and the confluence of so many fantastic knitterly things happening to me in one day.

Now before you start to sympathise with poor, long-suffering DH please note that he spent the time indulging on his own stash enhancement expedition… at a wine ware-house:

Mmmm Wine

 And on top of all of that, I made fantastic progress on his GlenvarAgin Cardigan over the course of the day – no wonder he induldges me!

“Oh, it’s such a perfect day
I’m glad I spend it with you”

 

from “Perfect Day” by Lou Reed, 1972

9 Responses to “Such a Perfect Day”

  1. Carol Says:

    Sounds like a wonderful day, would love to be close enough to TIK to just sneak in on a Sat afternoon!

    • undermeoxter Says:

      I wonder if I dreamt it now: today is filled with washing nappies and school uniforms, with a trip to the MIL later in the afternoon!
      I don’t get in to Dublin City Centre that often myself now. Walking around it yesterday, I’m reminded how much I miss it.

  2. Bridget Says:

    Wow that does sound like a great day! I don’t have that much excitement in my life in a week, much less in one day … though yesterday was particularly nice and cozy, I have to admit.

    Looking forward to hearing more about your goodies!

  3. Sinéad Says:

    So jealous of the Malabrigo. The colours are gorgeous.
    And how nice was fourboys to send you that package? She’s a gem!

  4. a bit of catching up to do… « Dublin Knit Collective Says:

    […] City Centre SnB has a new home and UnderMeOxter gives us an interesting account of the round table discussions from last Saturday. ▶ No […]

  5. February Round-up « Under Me Oxter – coz that’s how I knit Says:

    […] Meet-ups with others that I’ve only previously “met” online – City Centre SnB at Café Bell and February Spin-in at […]

  6. Week 1 or Weak One « Under Me Oxter – coz that's how I knit Says:

    […] given her for her birthday. This led me to pull out my skein of Schoppel Wolle Admiral Ombre that @Doogarry gave me as an Angel present a few years ago. The plan was to combine this with some yellow GarnStudio Drops Eskimo and make […]


Leave a Reply

