Choose Charity

I like the idea of knitting for Charity. Then project after project calls to me, or skeins whisper what they want to be; suddenly my knitting plan for the year is chock-full of non-charity knits.

Then there are so many charities to choose from:

Knitting Event at Pavillions, Swords

  • ISANDS – been there, done that, should do more;
  • Of Troys Hat Count;
  • The Uthando Project: Handmade dolls for the children of KwaZulu-Natal, whose lives have been affected by HIV/AIDS;
  • Project Night Night: blankets and soft toys for Homeless Children – featured in Interweave Crochet Winter 2009;
  • Hat Box Foundation: hats for those with cancer or other illness that cause them to lose their hair – featured in Interweave Crochet Fall 2009.

The list is endless!

But… give me a knitting event, with the potential for meeting other knitters, and I’m there – the choice is made for me.

There was a great turn-out of knitters and crochetiers. People were dropping in all the time: some contributing a few rows, others a square or two. I was very impressed by the blankets on display:
 

Impressive Totals

I could only stay for about 50 minutes myself. In that time I managed to start a square and advance a few rows in Tunisian Crochet. Meanwhile the lady sitting beside me made a whole square in garter stitch on what I think were 8mm needles. This was the tally when I was leaving:

I’ve definately bit the bug. I made two squares – took me two days to do it, however. I definately want to make a whole blanket – or at least one for a new born / cradle size.

Two down - 23 to go!

One Response to “Choose Charity”

  1. February Round-up « Under Me Oxter – coz that’s how I knit Says:

    […] 4 F.O. – Ishbel, Blackberry Socks (see below); 2 Charity Squares […]


Leave a Reply

