Bit-of-a Give-away!

I finally got my act together – and my niddy-noddy into gear – and finished three of the four Aerial Unwind events that I had planned.

From left to right: Argosy, Meters of Miter and Origami Hat are no more:

I still haven’t tackled the truly challenging one. I’m hoping that when I finally over-come inertia and open that fateful bag of alpaca-mess that it won’t seem as bad as my mental block tells me it is. Starting is half the battle – isn’t it? Tell me it is…

As I mentioned last Saturday, I have a cunning plan on how to keep my my overall stash levels under control, despite the boost that the Aerial Unwind events bring: I’m going to run another give-away on my blog. Similar to the Ban-zai Bonanza, you’ve got to write some poetry in the comments of this post and the winner will be selected by random number generator – or names out of a hat.

A bit-of-a Birthday Give-away:

I’m launching this give-away tonight in honour of the fact that tomorrow – thirty-nine years ago – I was born in a hospital in Limerick. And in honour of the fact that the give-away will run until St. Patrick’s Day – 17th March 2010, the prizes have an Irish theme.  I will make the draw at 12 noon GMT on St. Patrick’s Day.

The Prize:

How to Win:

Have you guessed yet? In honour of my being born in Limerick, to be in with a chance to win you must write a Limerick in the comments below. Your theme can be anything or anyone you like (though I reserve the right not to publish any I don’t consider appropriate!).

This is open to everyone: you don’t have to be a knitter or crochetier (though you might like the prize better if you are!); you don’t have to be living in Ireland – I will ship internationally; you do have to write a Limerick, however; and they have a very fixed format.

To start the ball rolling, and to give those of you unfamiliar with the “genre” an idea of what we’re talking about, I’ll go first:

A canny old knitter in Swords
swore Fair-isle was for the birds.
So when she got stranded,
she knit double-handed
and flew off to see the Fjords.

15 Responses to “Bit-of-a Give-away!”

  1. Karen Says:

    There was a young knitter named Karen
    who only knew one type of cast-on.
    Siobhan got involved
    and all her problems were solved
    until she misunderstood “Twisted German”.

  2. Bridget Says:

    Well, my mother wouldn’t let me enter this in the poetry contest in 8th grade, so maybe you’ll enjoy it. It was in honor of the Annunciation:

    There once was a virgin named Mary
    The Son of God she did carry
    Twas the Angel of God
    Who gave her the nod
    And said “Please just don’t name him Harry.”

    I thought this was hi-larious in 8th grade, especially since my father’s last name was Harry. Good times.

    • undermeoxter Says:

      Is that what the H stands for in Jesus H. Christ, I wonder?

      What age is 8th grade? I can’t wait to show this to my 7 year-old DD – she’ll think it’s hilarious too. Thanks for your entry – great fun.

  3. Meg Kennedy (Tigerseye) Says:

    Knitting socks on the bus yesterday inspired (if that’s the correct word!) the following:

    There was a young girl from Nenagh
    who thought shop bought stockings were blagh
    so she grabbed up some sticks
    got some yarn and new tricks
    now her socks are the coolest by far!

  4. Averil Says:

    OK here’s my try

    There once was a knitter from Swords,
    who began to get worried about her horde,
    try as she might,
    it was a losing fight,
    as her stash began exploding out of her drawers!

    Such fun! I’ve really enjoyed thinking of this -and a LOT easier than a haiku! at least for me 🙂

  5. February Round-up « Under Me Oxter – coz that’s how I knit Says:

    […] WIPs frogged – Meters of Miter Scarf; Pebble Argosy; Origami Hat; Frou-Frou Swatch (not over the finish line yet but the green alapaca mess has been […]

  6. Meg Says:

    OK, I have too much time on my hands, but I really think that this is a fun idea, and I’m going to inflict another of my moments of inspiration on you!

    A lively young pup called Bonnie
    enjoyed chewing fire wood for tea,
    then for her next treat
    Bamboo needles she’d eat
    who’d have thought how tasty they’d be!

  7. You Choose « Under Me Oxter – coz that’s how I knit Says:

    […] a Limerick in the comments of A Bit-of-a Give-away! blog-post before 12 noon GMT on 17th March 2010, St. Patrick’s Day. That’s tomorrow! […]

  8. deirdre Says:

    Lets see if I can get this

    There was a Galwegian in Dublin,
    Who tried to point out to an American
    That Ireland’s diverse,
    But from all the Green that she’s seen
    Has failed but still can’t help interfering.

    Not perfect but I kinda like it.

  9. Tour-is-tic « Under Me Oxter – coz that’s how I knit Says:

    […] March 18, 2010 — undermeoxter Thanks everyone who wrote a Limerick for my Bit-of-a […]


Leave a Reply

