Here come de-stash!

E’en tho’ the yarn yet lies beside me as I write and is not sent yonder to deserving arms…

Translation: Despite not yet sending off Karen’s parcel in the post…

E’en still I plot and ponder how I may reliquish more unto those who yearn.

…the time has come to reveal my aforementioned devious and cunning plan for destashing:

Easter Sunday Treasure Hunt for Egg-heads

My plan is to set up a little treasure-hunt around my blog. In the spirit of all the best egg-hunts, I will launch it for Easter Sunday. It will work like this (please leave a comment here if this is not making any sense):

  • In my blog-post on Saturday, 3rd of April, I will reveal the first “clue”.
  • The clue will be a question and the answer can be found in another post on this blog.
  • If you find the correct blog-post take a note of the answer and then look in the comments for the next clue / question.
  • Follow the clues as far as you can; taking note of each answer as you go.
  • There will be five clues / questions plus a tie-breaker question, which will also be revealed on Saturday 3rd April.
  • Send me a message on Ravelry with your answers – including the tie-breaker question – by 12 noon GMT on Monday 5th April.
  • There will be a five prizes.
  • Getting a question correct represents passing a stage in the treasure-hunt.
  • There will be a prize for each stage.
  • There will only be one winner for each stage.
  • If more that one person qualifies at any stage the tie-breaker question will determine who wins.
  • The winners will be announced on Monday 5th April.

The Prizes:

Stage 1: 1 x 100g skein each of Donegal Chunky Tweed by Debbie Bliss in Red and Blue [Super Bulky (5-6 wpi), 218yds in total]

  

Stage 2: 2 x 100g skeins of 100% Bamboo by South West Trading Company in colour “134” [DK / 8 ply (11 wpi), 500yds]

Stage 3: 3 x 100g skeins of Rowan Colourscape Chunky by Kaffe Fassett in “Sh 432” [Bulky / 12 ply (7 wpi), 525yds]

Stage 4: 4 x 100g skeins of Homespun Multi by Craftspun Yarns in Colour “001” [Bulky / 12 ply (7 wpi), 415yds approx] and 1 x 100g skein of Wool clásica by Manos del Uruguay in “8891” [Aran / 10 ply (8 wpi), 138 yds]

Stage 5: 3 x 50g skeins of Shibui Sock by ShibuiKnits in “Pebble” [Fingering / 4 ply (14 wpi), 573yds] and 1 x 50g skein of Gems Superfine / Fingering weight by Louet in “Carribean Blue” [Fingering / 4 ply (14 wpi), 185yds]

8 Responses to “Here come de-stash!”

  1. Sinéad Says:

    Ooh an Easter Egg hunt! Excellent! I’d have my eye on the Louet Gems (yum yarn) and the ShiBui Knits.
    Alas, I will be travelling to Dungarvan that day for a holiday and I know the house we are staying in has no WiFi. 😦
    Have fun with the competition!

    • undermeoxter Says:

      I was thinking a lot of people will be otherwise engaged on Easter Sunday so I’m planning to launch the first clue early on Saturday.
      I might also extend the deadline on Monday and announce the winners on Wednesday instead?

  2. Averil Says:

    Ooh, I’ll be keeping my eyes peeled!

  3. My Month of Sundays « Under Me Oxter – coz that’s how I knit Says:

    […] Speaking of Sundays… don’t forget: next Sunday is Easter Sunday and I’m running a Treasure-hunt around my blog and you could win these great prizes.  […]

  4. Launch of Easter Treasure Hunt for Egg-heads « Under Me Oxter – coz that's how I knit Says:

    […] As those of you who regularly read this blog are aware, I’m prone to having the odd give-away! This, combined with my recent wish to do some serious de-stashing, has led me to set up a Treasure Hunt for you, my readers. The idea is that I’ve hidden clues in the comments of my blog-posts for you to find. You come back to me with the correct answers and you’re in with a chance of winning some of these prizes from my stash. […]


Leave a Reply

