Launch of Easter Treasure Hunt for Egg-heads

Snappy title, huh? Hmmm…

As those of you who regularly read this blog are aware, I’m prone to having the odd give-away! This, combined with my recent wish to do some serious de-stashing, has led me to set up a Treasure Hunt for you, my readers. The idea is that I’ve hidden clues in the comments of my blog-posts for you to find. You come back to me with the correct answers and you’re in with a chance of winning some of these prizes from my stash.

This Treasure-Hunt is open to everyone; I will ship prizes to any destination. However, I want my stash to go to good homes of yarnophiles (crochetiers, knitters, weavers etc) so I’m using Ravelry private messageing service to receive your answers. You’ll find me on Ravelry as Undermeoxter. Send me a pm with your answers, ideally in the format I mention below.

Regular readers of my blog are going to have an advantage over those who have just dropped in having caught wind of this. I make no apology for that; it’s kinda the idea.

How it works:

  • Below, in this blog-post, I reveal the first “clue”.
  • As you can see “The clue” is a question and the answer can be found in another post on this blog.
  • If you find the correct blog-post take a note of the answer and then look in the comments for the next clue / question.
  • Follow the clues as far as you can; taking note of each answer as you go.
  • There will be five clues / questions plus a tie-breaker question – see below.

 How to Enter:

  • Send me a message on Ravelry with your answers – including the tie-breaker question – by 18:00GMT on Monday 5th April.
  • I’m deliberately using Ravelry because I want the winners to be yarnophiles.
  • The subject of your Ravelry message should read “Treasure Hunt Answers”
  • The format of your message should number your answers 1 to 5; give each answer its own line.
  • Don’t forget to answer the Tie-breaker question.

How to Win:

  • Getting a question correct represents passing a stage in the treasure-hunt
  • There is a prize for each stage.
  • There will only be one winner for each stage.
  • If more that one person qualifies at any stage the tie-breaker question determines who wins.
  • If you forget to answer the tie-breaker question and someone else has the same points as you – you automatically lose, I’m afraid.
  • The winners of each prize will be announced on Monday 5th April.

About the Prizes:

  • There are five prizes, which are ranked in the following order of merit:
    1. 3 x 50g skeins of Shibui Sock by ShibuiKnits in “Pebble” [Fingering / 4 ply (14 wpi), 573yds] and 1 x 50g skein of Gems Superfine / Fingering weight by Louet in “Carribean Blue” [Fingering / 4 ply (14 wpi), 185yds]
    2. 4 x 100g skeins of Homespun Multi by Craftspun Yarns in Colour “001” [Bulky / 12 ply (7 wpi), 415yds approx] and 1 x 100g skein of Wool clásica by Manos del Uruguay in “8891” [Aran / 10 ply (8 wpi), 138 yds]
    3. 3 x 100g skeins of Rowan Colourscape Chunky by Kaffe Fassett in “Sh 432” [Bulky / 12 ply (7 wpi), 525yds]
    4. 2 x 100g skeins of 100% Bamboo by South West Trading Company in colour “134” [DK / 8 ply (11 wpi), 500yds]
    5. 1 x 100g skein each of Donegal Chunky Tweed by Debbie Bliss in Red and Blue [Super Bulky (5-6 wpi), 218yds in total]
  • I can’t judge how easy or hard people will find this but all of the above prizes will be given away, regardless of what happens:
  • If very few people are coming back with correct answers I will also give out the prizes in order of who guesses the closest with the tie-breaker question.
  • If everyone is coming back with all correct answers then the prizes will be given out in the above order, depending on how close they are with the tie-breaker.
  • If I only have five people entering, each will receive a prize depending on who is closest with the tie-breaker question etc…

More Rules:

  • The use of the search facility is entirely expected
  • The use of other search engines is also allowed but while it might help you answer the question you still have to find the relevant blog-post for the next clue 😉
  • It does not matter how quickly you pm me with the answers but your first pm is the one that counts – if you realise later you made a mistake I’m sorry!
  • In all references to GMT I mean Irish Time; since the hour change I don’t know whether technically we’re now in GMT+1, to be honest.
  • I think that’s it on the rules & instructions. If anything doesn’t make sense, don’t hesitate to ask questions in the comments below.
  • Happy Hunting!

So… are you ready to go?

On your marks…

Get set…

1st Clue:

I named my blog after a phrase I associate with whom?

Don’t forget to include th tie-breaker question in your answers:

Tie-breaker question:

How many views will I get on Easter Sunday according to my blog-stats page.

To give you a ball-park, my all-time busiest day to date was Tuesday 23rd March with 73 views. This question is complete guesswork – even I don’t know the answer. You don’t have to guess the exact figure; whoever is closest, wins.

One Response to “Launch of Easter Treasure Hunt for Egg-heads”

  1. Bionic Laura Says:

    That was lots of fun! I’ve never done an easter egg hunt so a blog hunt was really great.


Leave a Reply

