Were you Amused or Bemused?

Thanks to all of you who entered my Blog Treasure Hunt. The feedback I’m getting is that you all enjoyed it. Some got a little stuck but most of you muddled on through to the end. Fair Play for giving it a go and for having fun in the process. Without further ado, here are the answers and… later on… the winners:

  • Question 1: I named my blog after a phrase I associate with whom?
  • Led you to blog-post: In the Beginning
  • Answer: my mother
  • Question 2: Name one of the paramedics who saved my life.
  • Led you to blog-post: Humbled
  • Answer: Gerry O’ Sullivan or John Devereux
  • Question 3: Name the Great-Great-Great-Great-Grandmother of the “POTUS”
  • Led you to blog-post: Vote for the Irishman
  • Answer: Phoebe Donovan
  • Question 4: Other than knitting, what links “raglan”, “cardigan”, “kitchener” and “balaclava”?
  • Led you to blog-post: More U.S.A. Today
  • Answer: The Crimean War (I gave a half-point to those who said the Military / Military History)
  • Question 5: How many kilometers of yarn did I use for my first attempt at Glenvar?
  • Led you to blog-post: The Behemoth
  • Answer:1.68km
  • The tie-breaker question: How many views will I get on Easter Sunday according to my blog-stats page
  • Answer: 15 (this really surprised me since I got a whopping 357 the day before!!!)

The Winners:

1 x 100g skein each of Donegal Chunky Tweed by Debbie Bliss in Red and Blue [Super Bulky (5-6 wpi), 218yds in total] goes to Laura (3 p0ints – Laura got all the way to the end but I only got three answers?!?! Sorry if some answers didn’t get to me, Laura)

2 x 100g skeins of 100% Bamboo by South West Trading Company in colour “134″ [DK / 8 ply (11 wpi), 500yds] goes to Averil (3.5 points)

3 x 100g skeins of Rowan Colourscape Chunky by Kaffe Fassett in “Sh 432″ [Bulky / 12 ply (7 wpi), 525yds] goes to Sinead (4 points)


4 x 100g skeins of Homespun Multi by Craftspun Yarns in Colour “001″ [Bulky / 12 ply (7 wpi), 415yds approx] and 1 x 100g skein of Wool clásica by Manos del Uruguay in “8891″ [Aran / 10 ply (8 wpi), 138 yds] goes to Mazzledazzle (4.5 points, tie-breaker guess = 54)

3 x 50g skeins of Shibui Sock by ShibuiKnits in “Pebble” [Fingering / 4 ply (14 wpi), 573yds] and 1 x 50g skein of Gems Superfine / Fingering weight by Louet in “Carribean Blue” [Fingering / 4 ply (14 wpi), 185yds] goes to Clarabel (4.5 points, tie-breaker guess = 24)

Thanks again, everyone for taking part and getting into the spirit of it all. I’ll definately do this again sometime.

2 Responses to “Were you Amused or Bemused?”

  1. Averil Says:

    Woohoo! This was a lot of fun and it really felt like a trip down memory lane. And I’m a winner -can today get any better?! Thank you!

  2. Bionic Laura Says:

    Excellent! I’ll have to come up with something funky for my prize. It was a fun treasure hunt.


Leave a Reply

