Choose to Support Me

I’m running the Flora Women’s Mini-Marathon again.

After a late start this year I started training using the Couch to 5K training programme from CoolRunning.com. I’ve Elana to thank for putting me on to this. She tweeted that she was thinking of running the Mini-Marathon and C25K. I thought C25K referred to a race where you run 25 Kilometers. I was suitably impressed; and convinced it was nothing I could aspire to.

Then I googled it and realised that C25K actually stands for “Couch to 5K” – that sounded a lot more my style! What’s more the training regime is based on interval training, building up stamina and fitness over a period of nine weeks. In addition, my iPod Nano could get a dusting-down and earn its keep because each week’s training ritual had been organised as a podcast.

I downloaded the podcasts from Ullreys.com and have been bopping / jogging to techno music for the past four weeks. I catch myself humming some of the tunes during the day!

What has amazed me even more is how much I love going for my runs: I get  up at six in the morning, throw on my leggings, t-shirt and runners; and head out the gate with the largest of our three dogs. I decided she needed more exercise, as much as I do; and she’s so eternally grateful for (what she sees as) spending quality time with me, she keeps trying to jump up on me as I’m running.

As I did last year, I’m running the Flora Mini-Marathon on behalf of Crumlin Medical Reseach Fund (CMRF). To give you the quick re-cap: I’ve a personal reason for feeling endebted to the Our Lady’s Children’s Hospital in Crumlin.

Six years ago my nephew needed open-heart surgery within a few days of being born. He’s now the healthiest, heartiest five-year-old you could imagine; with a cheeky grin and readiness for mischeif. The care he received when he was in Crumlin was second-to-none; the staff are awe-inspiring; incredibly 50% of the equipment was purchased using private donations. It’s shocking!

My sister vowed to run the Mini-Marathon for 20 years for the CMRF by way of thanks for her son’s life and well-being. I’m hoping that if I run a few of them too it will help her reach her goal. If you’d like to sponsor me for a few bob please click on the following link:
http://tinyurl.com/32fmuzu

Thank you for reading and especially if you donated.

Leave a Reply

