FO: Mr. Smith and a Snapdragon Tam

I’m busy, busy knitting these days but I did promise some pics of FOs when they were done.

First: the Snapdragon Tam for my kids’ German Teacher, which was well received.

Löwenmäulchen is German for Snapdragons (or so says d'Internet

I absolutely loved knitting this pattern. And it flew up. I cast-on really late last Sunday night (more like early Monday morning, to be honest!). It was finished and blocking by Wednesday; ready to be gifted at the last German lesson on Thursday afternoon. I loved working in Malabrigo Sock too. I made this with 4mm needles, which I felt was a little loose for me. Next time, I make this – and I’m certain there will be a next time – I’ll make the next size up, in a smaller size needle.

I’m not absolutely convinced by the sudden flashes of lighter colour – I would have rathered if it had less of the yellow-green. But hopefully it doesn’t take from the overall effect. The German Teacher told me she loved it and that it was her favourite colour. So I’m happy!

Next up, this character:

Cute or what?

This pattern, Smith, also comes from Ysolda Teague’s book “Whimsical Little Knits 2”. I loved knitting this – attaching the various rows of stripes was such fun. I modified the centre portion by omitting the central repeat. I did it because I knew I wouldn’t have enough yarn if I followed the pattern as written. Now that it’s done, I think that including the repeated section would have made the overall body too elongated.

This was also a quick knit – though it stalled for a bit while I searched for what to use for stuffing. Going on a tip from fellow knitters Sinead (@sineadR) and Mairead (@doogarry), I bought cheap pillows in Pennies – two for €4!! They’re filled with perfect stuffing material and such a bargain too – can’t wait to make more soft toys, all of a sudden!

The yarn was “rescue skein” I re-homed when Clarabel was de-stashing recently. It’s a thick-n-thin cotton from Araucnia Yarns “N. Cotton PT 709” if that makes any sense to anyone?

I’m still knitting like the clappers, however: two gifts down, three to go… Not to mention GlenvarAgin – did someone mention GlenvarAgin?

No! Perish the thought! Shudder!

6 Responses to “FO: Mr. Smith and a Snapdragon Tam”

  1. Mairead Says:

    Love, love, love.

    Both are gorgeous.

  2. Bionic Laura Says:

    Love the hat. I have this pattern so I must make it. It calls for worsted but I have some nice sock yarn and seeing yours done in sock yarn makes me think it might just work. I like the light touches of yellow on the hat too.
    Smith is very sweet too…

    • undermeoxter Says:

      I only knew of Madeline Tosh as a sock yarn, so I didn’t even think about using anything but my Malabrigo Sock for it. Now you’ve made me look, I’ve noticed the “worsted” bit – LOL!
      Kinda explains why I felt it was a tad loose!
      Mind you, I don’t think I’d like to see it made in a worsted, tbh.

  3. Sinéad Says:

    Love the hat. Really nice. I’ve never made a tam, I’m unsure how I’d wear it. I must give one a go. And I’m glad the pillow stuffing worked, it’s much cheaper than buying “proper” stuffing, which I think is the same thing anyway. 🙂

  4. Averil Says:

    I love Mr Smith! Looking forward to seeing what other animals appear on the blog. Great tip re the pillows. Must remember that.

    And as for German classes I’m doing an intensive course in July! Must be insane.. 🙂


Leave a Reply

