Sushi Shawl Along Stash


My first stash accumulation of 2011 arrived in the post during the first week: the kit for Sushi Shawl Along 5.0 that I signed up for with EasyKnits.co.uk.

This was totally planned; I haven’t already fallen off my own wagon. Indeed, I’m telling myself that this is part of a self-imposed 10-Steps programme. Oh, yarns we spin!

Aren’t the colours just gorgeous? They range from quirky grey, through sumptuous blue, to deep red and back again; dallying in playful purple and earthy brown along the way. Jon Dunn-Ballam of EasyKnits is a talented British dyer and designer, whose work I’ve been admiring since he was featured in Yarn Forward years ago. He’s also lovely to meet in person; which I had the pleasure of doing at his stand in the 2009 IKnit Weekender.

With each club instalment, he includes the pattern he has written for the yarn being issued. For this, he has written a shawl pattern “Myriad”: a reversible shawl that can be worn a myriad of ways, thanks to the inclusion of buttons on opposite corners.

What I didn’t expect at all, was that he included the buttons! What an added bonus? So I’ve got a whole kit.

The reckoning… Stash Accumulation for January:
Yardage in = 495yds
Yardage out = not yet determined…
4 Responses to “Sushi Shawl Along Stash”

  1. Jon Dunn-Ballam Says:

    BLUSH

    I’m so pleased you love it so – I work very hard indeed to bring the perfect colour/pattern and always search for hours to find a gift to include for each club customer – to make them feel special and to also say ‘thanks heaps’ for taking part 🙂

    Already working on Sushi Shawl Along 6 – new colour, new design and new free gift 😉

    I love meeting customers too, and have to admit to being nervous as hell when people tell me they bought my yarns before – secretly hoping they love them as much as I do 🙂

    Thanks again for your lovely comments.

  2. Sinéad Says:

    Ooh, commented by the designer! High praise indeed. 🙂
    I do agree though, the colours are really gorgeous. I love the transition from red to pink to bluey purple. I bet it’ll be really lovely when knit up.

  3. Crafty Blog update 9th-15th January 2011 « Irish Knitting & Crochet Says:

    […] Undermeoxter talks about being overeducated and undervalued; plans on seven for 2011 and reviews 2010 resolutions; makes more concrete plans for 2011 and gets a sushi roll shawl project […]

  4. May Round-up « Under Me Oxter – coz that's how I knit Says:

    […] via my Easter Treasure Hunt Give Away. BionicLaura got the Myriad Shawl Kit (previously blogged here) and MollyDot got EasyKnitter’s Sock Club 3 kit: a skein of his gorgeous hand-painted yarn, […]


Leave a Reply

