Our Deepest Fear

I went to Mass this morning. As this is my DD’s Holy Communion year, the Church has identified ten Sunday Masses that we should attend. I am ambivalent about Catholicism and why we are bringing DD to the sacrament of First Holy Communion but that’s really a post for another day.

Today’s post is about the Communion Reflection that one of the other parents read because it resounded so much with me and what I’m going through at work at the moment. I was almost in floods of tears.

A quick google search and I can bring it to you. It’s by Marianne Williamson from her book A Return To Love: Reflections on the Principles of A Course in Miracles

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure.

It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us.

We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God.

Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you.

We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone.

And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same.

As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.”

I am very keenly aware that “the powers that be” at my work-place are very insecure. We all have our insecurities but in their case they need to bring everyone down to their level. When I started working there, I allowed myself to be brilliant: to do my work well and efficiently gave me the greatest pleasure. In the past eighteen months, however, I have allowed myself to be worn down; to dim my light; to dull my wit. And I’m hating myself, my workplace, my work.

I need to have faith in myself again. I need to work towards keeping that inner spark kindled. I need to believe in my own ability and talent and stop wallowing in their lack of same.

It’s very tough but I think I might make portions of this empowering quote into mini-mantras to keep myself strong as I forge ahead, torch in hand/heart.

7 Responses to “Our Deepest Fear”

  1. Sinéad Says:

    A very moving piece. I can see why it touched you when you’re so upset abut what’s going on. I really hope it gets sorted out soon, one way or another. It’s doing you no good letting it continue the way it is. *Hugs*

    • undermeoxter Says:

      Thanks so much.
      It was just what I needed to hear, when I needed to hear it. If my Dad was still around, I’d be picking his brains about what to do. He had training in IR and was always brilliant about these situations.
      Nuts as it might seem, I think he makes sure I’m getting the message and support I need.

  2. Rosemary Says:

    Thank you thank you thank you. I wish I had seen this while I was still working in Waterford Wedgwood – might have saved me a lot of grief.

  3. Bionic Laura Says:

    Hugs to you. I hope you can get all this sorted soon. It’s a lovely quote and quite true.

  4. Helen (of troy) Says:

    Robyn Love had two great post at the beginning of January, in the same theme..
    find the second here.
    http://myfairisle.blogspot.com/2011/01/on-being-vulnerable.html
    (there is a link to the first page/post there)

  5. Susan Says:

    The second line in that reflection is so true and it’s touched a chord with me too. I hope things improve in work for you and soon.

    By the way, I looked at the tutorials – they’re great. I’m always in awe of people who can knit and crochet and I’d love to be able to do it.

  6. Crafty Blog Updates 23rd-29th January 2011 « Irish Knitting & Crochet Says:

    […] me oxter talks about deepest fears and talks about choosing […]


Leave a Reply

