Fractious WIP

A spinning WIP this week and one that is at such early days, I’m really only at the preparation stage. So not a huge amount to show, yet.

You might remember this colour explosion which I bought during a post-volcanic stash-spree last year.
Kismet
I bought it mainly because it’s BFL and that’s meant to be a good fibre / breed for newbie spinners like me.
I wasn’t so taken with the colourway but it was the only BFL that they had on their site at the time.

For a long time I wondered what I was going to do with it. For 11 months, to be precise! Then, KBDoolin suggested the theme of “Once Upon A Time” for the Skein-a-month Spin-a-Long and I realised that it is *just* the colours of a Princess trapped by a fire-breathing Dragon – the quintessential fairy-tale.

Palindromic sequence
What to do with the colours, though. I tried for stripes with Eyjafjallajokull and failed in the plying. The plying tripped me up again by muddying up my Northern Lights colours. Lots of spinners seem to rave about Fractal Spinning as a way-forward in this predicament. I’m skeptical myself but, technique-freak that I am, I’m willing to give it a lash.

So here you’re seeing the fibre after I’ve split it initially down-the-middle lengthways and then split one half further and further until I had nine thin lengths.
Fractal
A tip I picked up from my researching of this technique is to start at the half-way point of the length of fibre and work towards the ends. I used a weighing scale to double-check that I had split it in half. I was a little off but I managed to join up a thin sliver with the thick half. What none of the websites and blogs that discuss this technique are telling me is how to spin the thick half. Do I pre-draft it? Do I just spin it by pulling/thinning a little out at a time?

Oh well, it’s all a learning process, isn’t it?

2 Responses to “Fractious WIP”

  1. deimne Says:

    RE the pre-draft or draft as you spin; it’s up to personal preference. As far as I’m concerned the only reason to pre-draft is if the fibre is a little too sticky to draft as you go along. I don’t pre-draft unless I feel I need to.

  2. Crafty Blog Update 3rd-9th April « Irish Knitting & Crochet Says:

    […] me Oxter has some unpleasantness in Berlin; deals with a fractious WIP and finishes some […]


Leave a Reply

