It loves me, it loves me not

Ah, my Petals Wrap! It’s like a Bad Romance, as the ga-ga Lady says. I advance, notice it has rebuked me; I retreat by ripping back; iron-out the disagreement and quickly advance again. I must have advanced more than I ripped back, because I actually made sone progress. But it sure doesn’t feel like it.
So I’ve got to the stage where I can join the back to the fronts. And there’s (yet another) problem: the instructions don’t make sense.
Recently I was contacted by two different crochetiers who had hit a wall at this point.
Since I hadn’t got that far on the pattern at the time I tried reading ahead on the pattern, to see if I could make any sense of it. Here’s what I said:

All on the same round of the Back, I think you:

1. catch the centre of Right Front 1st, to start the bottom of the right armhole;
2. then work the Back along the Right Sleeve-edge, across the neckline and down the Left Sleeve-edge;
3. then catch the Left Front with one (1) stitch at the centre  (a starting row);
4. then you’re working the Left Front and the Back alternately to form a join between these two pieces;
5. then work across the bottom of the Back;
6. then work the Back and the Right Front alternately until you’re back up to the centre of the Right Front i.e. the bottom of the Right Armhole.

This was the only thing I could visualise from my reading of the pattern.

Now that I’m at that point myself I realise

  1. I made a mistake in my explanation and
  2. now the joining round instructions don’t make sense at all!

The mistake I made is that I omitted the bit where the top of the Left Front is joined during item 2 above. The problem with this realisation is that there doesn’t appear to be any instruction for joining the top of the Right Front.

And that’s not all. But to explain further I need to bring you through it step-by-step:

First, let’s name the connection positions and number the points on the hexagon.  The photo below shows the right-side of the work and you progress in an anti-clockwise direction.

The round starts at the green marker and the first part of the instruction brings you to point #1

  • The round starts at the green marker (see “start” above) and the first part of the instruction brings you to point #1. Then you’re told to join this point to centre of the Right Front (A). This would be the bottom of the right armhole.
  • The next part of the instruction brings you to point #2. This should be the top of the Right Armhole and I expect to be asked to connect to point (B) on the Right Front. Instead, I’m directed to connect to point (D) on the Left Front.

Either point #1 should be connected to (B) and not (A)

*or*

(D) should be connected to point #3 and not #2.

In order to be able to move on, I have to decide which one of these is wrong. To do this, I have to work through the rest of the instructions for this round. Bear with me…

  • The next step brings you to the next point on the back, point #3. Here we’re told to join to (E) at the centre of the Left Front, forming the bottom of the Left Armhole.
  • Next we alternate between the Left Front and the Back to form the side seam between (#3/E) and (#4/F).
  • Then it’s a straight-run across the bottom of the back to point #5 where we’re directed to join to (C) on the bottom of the Right Front.
  • We then alternate between the Back and Right Front to form the side seam from (#5/C) and (#6/A).
  • The instructions here describe connecting to (A) before bringing us to the join with the start of the round. From this I gather that the error in the pattern is that point #1 was meant to be joined to (B) and not (A).

At least, that’s how I’m going to tackle it – since it’s now the only thing I can visualise from my reading of the pattern.

While I was figuring all this out, I looked at the schematic to see if that would help only to realise the left and right fronts have been labelled incorrectly. I even tried out a parallel universe where the schematic was right but in that case the sleeves would have to be coming out of the bottom of the back!

And now, onto the joining round – may it not rebuke me!

– Posted using BlogPress from my iPhone

6 Responses to “It loves me, it loves me not”

  1. Alifeofherown Says:

    All I can do is wish you luck! The world of crochet remains a mystery to me.

  2. Aoibhe Says:

    OK, so looking back and forth from what you have and the photos on Ravelry, I reckon that you need to move one or other of the two side panels up one notch, so they’re almost touching at the top.

    Now, I haven’t read the pattern, or attempted to make it, but from what you’ve said so far, I imagine the shoulders will be at the top of the middle motif, and then more will be happening further down…

  3. Aoibhe Says:

    Actually, ignore me! I think I had the scale wrong.
    This lady may be of help:
    http://www.ravelry.com/projects/litlemouse/petals-wrap-cardigan

  4. Bridget Says:

    This gave me a headache – I have no clue what would/not work!

    Good luck I hope you can work it out …

  5. Crafty Blog Update 10th-16th April « Irish Knitting & Crochet Says:

    […] talks style-wise; how a project doesn’t cooperate; how to cheat at crochet and a stash […]

  6. Killing off a Curse | Under Me Oxter - coz that's how I knit Says:

    […] me, obviously. So, naturally, nothing would do me but to taunt them and pick a shawl pattern by a designer I’d previously flagged technical-editing issues to. Others in my knitting circle have also run into difficulties on some of her patterns (mainly from […]


Leave a Reply

