WIP-Id-a-Dee-do

I’ve sacked my Super-Ego.

Some years ago, I did an evening course which covered a lot of Freud: the Id, the Ego and the Super-Ego; and it tickles me to see things in terms of this structure.

As you’re no doubt aware, the Id is our primeval self – our cravings and desires.

the id wants whatever feels good at the time, with no consideration for the reality of the situation

Sound familiar, knitters? Every time we succumb to Startitis it’s really our Id has taken control.

The only reason we don’t spend every waking minute knitting-up a storm is because of our Ego and our Super-Ego, says Freud.

The ego understands that other people have needs and desires and that sometimes being impulsive or selfish can hurt us in the long run. It’s the ego’s job to meet the needs of the id, while taking into consideration the reality of the situation.

So the Ego makes sure we put our needles and hooks down once in a while and interact with those around us, to ensure they don’t cast us out entirely. We hold down a job so that we can pay for our yarn.

Where does the Super-ego come in?

Many equate the superego with the conscience as it dictates our belief of right and wrong.

In knitting/ crocheting terms, it’s what makes us stick with a project through thick and thin and see it through to the (sometimes) bitter end.

But sometimes you’ve got to let it go: to give in and admit defeat is the triumph of the Ego, whose function is centred in reality.

When you’ve ripped back a hairy yarn repeatedly, just to rectify a mistake others might never see; when you know in your heart-of-hearts the project is not going to be fit for the purpose you envisioned; when you realise that sticking with it will prevent you from completing another project in time… then it’s time to let your Ego take back the reigns and give in to the Id.

All this is a fancy way of saying:

  • I made the mistake of timing myself doing one repeat of the edging on Petals and realised I have 20 hours worth of work on the edging alone.
  • Considering I only average one hour per day, I was never going to get Petals *and* Peaseblossom Tunic completed in time for the Wedding/Communion deadlines.
  • In the meantime, I have bought a dress that I could wear to one of the event but it doesn’t go with Petals.
  • I also have a skirt that I think *will* go with Peaseblossom.

So yes, I have abandoned Petals and started Peaseblossom.
– Posted using BlogPress from my iPhone

3 Responses to “WIP-Id-a-Dee-do”

  1. Irene Says:

    Oh yes, there are very many factors to calculate. I spot one factor you seem to have neglected, perhaps deliberately, but if my ego was yours, I would really consider investing in a Clover Soft Touch hook. I bet you could get more done in the one hour per day with that… Just sayin’!

    Good luck with it, I look forward to seeing the final result!

  2. Crafty Blog Update 17th-23rd April « Irish Knitting & Crochet Says:

    […] shares some recent book purchases; talks about WIPs and makes an edible […]

  3. Week 1 or Weak One « Under Me Oxter – coz that's how I knit Says:

    […] – this was abandoned last April, if you remember, to get on with making my Peaseblossom Tunic. I picked it up again at the […]


Leave a comment