May Round-up

Apologies for my unscheduled absence from here. Things have been ridiculously hectic around here – as you’re about to gather…

FOs

Finally, I have one: Peaseblossom Tunic by Kirstin Omdahl in Fyberspates Lace.

It was touch and go for a while there and I modified the pattern, making it shorter by a few pattern repeats, to give myself a better shot at finishing it in time. Even still, this was very-much down to the wire: I finished it the day before I intended to wear it. Thankfully it dried quickly after blocking.

It served its purpose: smartening up some items already in my wardrobe to give me a presentable outfit for my daughter’s First Holy Communion; but I can’t say I’m thrilled with it. It’s not very flattering and I wish I had made it with some waist-shaping. I doubt I will ever wear it again, to be honest. Also, there is a distinct line in the bottom section where the was a slight change in the colourway, which I’m disappointed with even if it’s  not so evident here.

However, it served another purpose too: using up 2.25 skeins of the four skeins of Fyberspates I had i.e. 1010m. For that, I’m very thankful.

WIPs

Alas, I haven’t been able to get back into my Petals Wrap since I abandoned it in favour of focussing on Peaseblossom. This is back to languishing, which is a pity as I suspect it will be a more successful item of clothing in my wardrobe.

I was at a loss then for the last week of May and started a crochet project. I can’t say much about it here yet as it may (or may not) grow up to be a gift.

Yarn In

I seem to have been very good in May. Other than some scraps that my Mum foisted on my from the remains of her knitting days thirty-odd years ago, I successfully resisted all other Stash Accumulations. I have a vague recollection of acquiring some fibre at the Super Sunday Spin-in at the beginning of May but it’s all very hazy – I’m sure I dreamt it…

There has been Stash Accumulation since I did my last tally, however. The following arrived towards the end of April but I didn’t do a round-up that month.

It’s the second installment from Janel Laidman’s Sock Club and this time around I’m satisfactorily WOWed! Two fabulous sock patterns – both intricate and entirely up to the standard I’ve come to expect from Ms Laidman.

I’m excited by the yarn choice too: jwrayco hand painted yarns and fibers, Shetland Collection. The Yellow is called “flowers on the beach” and the variegated blue is “lerwick harbor – purples”. I don’t usually acquire yellow but with this variagated purple/green I think it’s going to be a joy. I believe these socks will be in my future – now to decide which of the two patterns I would knit.

Yarn Out

I made two cunning de-stashing coups via my Easter Treasure Hunt Give Away. BionicLaura got the Myriad Shawl Kit (previously blogged here) and MollyDot got EasyKnitter’s Sock Club 3 kit: a skein of his gorgeous hand-painted yarn, copy of his sock pattern “Coffee break” and a packet of Oreos. I also received this kit during april so it doesn’t make an impact on my yarn balance.

Finally Tally

So the up-shot of this month’s activity is…

  • FOs = 1 (Thank FSM!)
  • WIPs = 3 (Kinda, ish)
  • Frogged = 0
  • Skein-a-month = 0 (Still haven’t finished my March skein, let alone my April and May!)
  • Yarn in = 202.3 (Flowers on a Beach)+205.9 (Lerwick Harbour – purples) = 408.2m
  • Yarn out = 452.6 m(Myriad Shawl Sushi Roll)+ 1010.2 m(Peaseblossom Tunic) = 1462.8
  • Yarn balance c/f = -1054.6 i.e. I used up more than I gained (yay!)
  • Darned Socks = 0 (ahem, kinda forgot about this…)
3 Responses to “May Round-up”

  1. Alifeofherown Says:

    Oh no I can’t believe after all your work you don’t like the peaseblossom tunic! That’s one of the reasons I don’t like knitting adult garments, apart from the length of time they take, I’m never convinced they look right.

    but, yay for knitting down stash!

  2. Mairin Says:

    I’m right with you on the knitting for the First Communion!! I finished knitting a linen jacket the night before my DD’s communion, but on the day, I decided it ended up looking a bit too casual, and wore a non-knitted jacket instead. Linen jacket still not worn : ( But hopefully will be soon.

    Well done on the more yarn out than in. I’m trying to do the same, but it takes so much longer to knit than to buy….

  3. Crafty Blog Update 22nd May – 11th June « Irish Knitting & Crochet Says:

    […] does a May Round-up; adds to her stash; has some trials and tribulations; gets working on […]


Leave a Reply

