FO Friday: Leaving It

I’ve been plodding slowly along with Turbine diligently ignoring the glaring fact that if you knit an Aran-weight pattern in a DK-weight yarn it’s going to be too small. I really astonish myself, at times, for my dedication to the ethos of the ostrich.
After slogging it out for another few hours at knit-night and appearing to be no nearer to the crown decreases, I tried it on DH when I got home and he confirmed: it’s too damn small.

After five days of delusion I was in need of speed. It wasn’t just that I needed a project that would be done quickly. I needed to go from yarn to FO in less time than it usually takes me to mess things up.

I’d had “Leaving On The Edge” in mind when I did my recent stash-accumulation excursion. Once bitten, twice shy, as they say: I realised the Sirdar Chunky would not be the Super Bulky that the pattern calls for.

Luckily, I remembered I have two balls of Rowan Big Wool in my stash and a quick check of the pattern’s projects page convinced me others have had success with this yarn before.

I cast on in the car on the way to work (DH was driving, I hasten to add) and by the end of coffee break I had finished the first (of five) pattern repeats:


By the time I was finished my lunch I was 2/5ths there!


The rest was done that evening while watching an engrossing film, which actually slowed me down a lot!
Hey Presto:


As the designer herself tweeted:

yay! I love instant gratification knits

– Posted using BlogPress from my iPhone

2 Responses to “FO Friday: Leaving It”

  1. Sinéad Says:

    I love it! Isn’t a great cowl pattern? I loved the one I made. I must make another one soon.

  2. crafty blog update 12th-25th June 2011 « Irish Knitting & Crochet Says:

    […] me oxter finishes Leafing it; has a stalled hat; finds a deserted hotel; translates knitting for […]


Leave a Reply

