Mid-March Madness

StashDown / Lacealong2012 / WIPdown

My cake of Malabrigo Yarn Lace currently weighs 14g, which means I have knit 116m in the past week. More to the point, I cast-off my Summer Affair by Carol Feller this afternoon. Aaand it doesn’t fit.

With a shrug o' the shoulders

Well, I guess it does “fit” – afterall it’s a shrug, so I suppose it’s “doing exactly what it says on the tin”. Buuuuut, it’s just that it doesn’t *look* like it fits.

This is disappointing. I knit the size for 36″ bust – which is exactly my bust dimension. More than that, the pattern gives a dimension of 20″ around the circumference of the opening of the shrug – which is exactly the measurement I get when I wind a tape around from the back of my neck, under each oxter and around my back. I also managed to block the initial rectangle to the dimensions in the schematic. All of this meant I was hopeful that the finished piece would fit and I pressed on.

I was worried that I would run out of yarn as it was since the pattern says that the smallest size would take 366m and I was knitting the next size up out of one skein which has 430m. Turns out I only used 300m – I have over a quarter of the skein left over. I could have easily knit the next size up, it seems – that’s annoying.

It’s tempting to think of starting again in the next size because this colourway is just perfect for the dress I need a shrug for. Tempting… for all of two seconds! So for now, I’m say this is done but I’ll either give it away to DD or a neice.

12in12 / #Spin5

#Spin5: days 1 to 3 of BFL sample

#spin5 has been great for getting me back at the wheel at a regular basis – daily, even! Here’s a pic of days one to three of my latest spinning – a sample of Blue-face Leicester dyed by Laura Hogan:

20120318-184027.jpg

1st skein wound into a cake

As mentioned in last week’s post, though, #spin5 has been especially beneficial in getting me to tackle the plying on some singles of Falkland that had been languishing on my wheel since last October. My 1st skein was 63 wraps of my Niddy-noddy – which I calcualte at 98m and a WPI of 13 therefore fingering to sport weight.

My 2nd skein was a little under-spun compared to the first so I ran it through the wheel again. It’s still in soaking but I’m hopefull I have enough for a small shawlette between the two skeins.

So I’m quickly moving on to my next WIP – 198 yds. of Heaven. This is small enough that I hope to have it finished by the end of the week.

Twilting

And the winner is...

So, a few weeks ago I looked for suggestions for a name for my quilt and offered to place all who commented into a draw for a prize. I got some great ideas from five commemorators:

  1. ALifeOfHerOwn
  2. SheKnitUpThat
  3. Mazzledazzle
  4. Treasa
  5. Mairin
Using a random number generator, the lucky winner is…
SheKnitUpThat

And your prize is a Sock Club kit containing:

20120318-170539.jpg

Two skeins of Lornas Laces Shepherd Sock in "Valentine" (above) and "Fiddlehead" (below)

I received these last year as an instalment in Janel Laidman’s Sock Club. These two skeins come with two separate sock patterns – Enjoy!

Gems from the Web

Yesterday was St. Patrick’s Day and being online now I have become more aware of how differently this day is viewed and celebrated by those living on the island of Ireland and the rest of the world, especially in the US. A few things I’ve become aware of:

  • Americans can’t hear, let alone understand, the difference between “Patty” and “Paddy” and think anyone insisting it’s #paddynotpatty is either a) getting upset over nothing or b) just plain wrong;
  • Americans have a tradition of pinching people on St. Patrick’s Day that fail to wear green. (WTF? says everyone in Ireland!);
  • Irish people, who are used to the association of St Patrick with the three-leaved shamrock, are confused by the use of Four-leaved clover  – a symbol of good luck – and the conflation of the year-round concept of “Luck o’ the Irish” onto St. Patrick’s Day;
  • Americans assume it’s a myth that there are no snakes in Ireland and won’t accept our assurances otherwise because they’ve been caught out with the pocket-fish thing previously;
  • Similarly, pointing out that a) St. Patrick was actually Welsh; b) his name wasn’t Patrick but he had a Roman/ Latin title “Padricus” or c) he didn’t introduce Christianity to Ireland coz there was already a bishop here before him – will also be greeted with scepticism, at best.
I have concluded that continued efforts to educate the masses of the true meaning of St. Patrick’s Day will be derided by those wishing to “have the craic” and get into what ever Irish spirit they like. Let’s face it: we are a tiny, country, with a tiny population living on a tiny island and yet we have a whole day dedicated to the whole rest of the world wanting to celebrate whatever version of Irishness they feel. Seriously, why fight it?
For example: Most food we consider as Indian was actually invented in Great Britain. I’m sure people who were born and reared on the sub-continent get a surprise when they eat-out in England but that doesn’t stop the rest of us from enjoying our bhagis and aloo chat.
Yes, the name “Patty” grates because we hear it as either a girl’s name or something you put between two burger buns. Yes, pinching is stupid but at least it’s someone else’s tradition. And yes, it’s unfortunate that some think “Darby O’ Gill and The Little People” was a documentary. Why fight them? Why not just smile and nod and then take the piss when they’re not noticing.
And in this vein, may I present this audio from Irish radio – i.e. “Michael Flatley” interviewed by Ian Dempsey for Gift Grub on Today FM
9 Responses to “Mid-March Madness”

  1. Catherine Rotte-Murray Says:

    I love your take on Paddy’s Day and totally agree with you! Poor son got ate on Facebook by an upset yank over the Patty-Paddy issue. I am green over your fab sock yarn giveaway and over your spinning skills. Wow! How easy is it and do you need much gear to get going? Thanks! Catherine

    • undermeoxter Says:

      Thanks Catherine!
      You don’t need much gear to get started with spinning: a stick, a weight and some fluff is all it boils down to. I don’t think I’m that great at it yet so lots of patience and acceptance is also needed.
      Thanks for reading.

  2. Bridget Says:

    You don’t even want to get me started on these topics!

    And, Michael Flatley is the anti-Christ. Just saying.

    • undermeoxter Says:

      You’re one of the good’uns that “gets it”. I’m going to try to be more “laissez faire” about it all next year. Either that or turn off the Internet for the 1st two weeks of March.
      And, yes, Michael Flately was sent to try us all. Did you listen to the audio? Hilarious send-up.

  3. sheknitupthat Says:

    Holy crap I won!! Whooooop!! This is the coolest ever! Also, it’s my first new yarn since 2011 cos of my strict stashdown 2012, I’m so excited!

    Totally agree with you on the p-day stuff. Have whole blog post in my head on why I’m of the #pattynotpaddy opinion. So glad the day is over & I can stop seeing bajillion retweets of that ridiculous paddy not patty page.

    Ps don’t forget to renew your guild sub! Doing mine this week!

  4. Alifeofherown Says:

    That Gift Grub episode is brilliant! A great send up 😀

    A Summer Affair looks great – are you sure you couldn’t get away with it?

  5. Cathy Says:

    Shrug and spinning are gorgeous!

  6. Procrastination « Under Me Oxter – coz that's how I knit Says:

    […] as Spun – you may remember me finishing off the yarn for this in the previous post. While I procrastinated about making the yarn for months, and then about plying it for a few more […]


Leave a Reply

