Killing off a Curse

My last post was fermenting for about a month before I finally finished it off and exposed my WIP trauma to the world. I can report that while a few FOs have wended their torturous way (Raspberry Beret and a different Phoenix), a few WIPs still languish (the gloves and the quilt top).

My lucky number Eight project, mentioned at the end of my last post, was a radical choice and very taunting of the crafting gods. The back story was that I had a wedding to go to and you may recall how much I loathe clothes shopping for myself so I went to a Personal Shopper and picked up this dress:

2014-03-14 16.06.56

Swit-swoo!

And this coat to go with it (Spring weddings not being known for their balmy weather)

2014-03-14 16.10.24

Bit-a-bling!

Of course it needed a shawl and, as luck would have it, I had just the yarn in my stash.

DH gone mad!

Noro Silk Garden Sock

The Crafting Gods were smiling upon me, obviously. So, naturally, nothing would do me but to taunt them and pick a shawl pattern by a designer I’d previously flagged technical-editing issues to. Others in my knitting circle have also run into difficulties on some of her patterns (mainly from the same book) so there’s a bit of a standing joke amongst us of the “Curse of Kirsten”. Selecting this pattern could potentially result in me running a gauntlet, crafting style, as my fellow crafters do their best to disguise their “we told you so” looks and “why do you do these things to yourself” comments.

Or could I possibly break the Curse? Yes, you know me by now: I’m arrogant enough to imagine that’s exactly what I’ll do.

The pattern was a lot of fun and played nicely with the self-striping yarn (though, admitedly, it would be better in a solid or semi-solid).

2014-03-15 11.11.08

It goes up and down not around and around

I got a funky 70s-esque shawl out of it. And a lot of compliments at the wedding.

The Crafting Gods had to get my hubris in check by making sure I ran out of yarn. And though they kept me guessing until the last stitch of the row, there was thankfully enough to get a few rows of the edging complete.

2014-03-24 23.48.30

Cutting it fine!

And the Curse? Sadly, the pattern did have small technical-editing issues. Significant enough that it might confuse a crochter but not anything that couldn’t be got over with a liberal dose of common sense. I can’t say the Curse won’t rue another day. My guess is this designer has got so popular and in demand she is unable to give as much time to cross-checking the technical-editing of her patterns (or has possibly outsourced some of the design work?). It’s sad but it puts me off purchasing any of her other publications or patterns.

But at least my lucky number Eight was lucky after all!

ETA by popular request (yeah, I look like I’m about to start a reel – that’s accidental! – or possibly ingrained!):

The Ensemble!

The Ensemble!

2 Responses to “Killing off a Curse”

  1. rosemary6688 Says:

    Would love to have seen a pic of you wearing the lot !


Leave a Reply

