F.O. Rainbow Rush

The skein I dyed, based on the colours of my local beach, grew up to be Rainbow Socks in no time at all.

I really enjoyed this pattern. The repeating sections of short-rows were as completely addictive to do as any lace pattern. They start with only two or three stitches, so you’re very easily enticed into starting another section. Then you add another four stitches each row before you turn again and, before you know it, you’re working over almost all of the stitches of the sock circumference.

I wore them for the first time on St. Patrick’s Day, last week, and got DH to take the above centre snap for my entry in the St. Patrick’s Day Celebration Competition on Ravelry: –

  • make something with an Irish theme, and take a photo of it on St. Patricks Day;
  • post the photo in the competition thread for the group and
  • everyone has until 6pm (Irish time) March 27th, 2010, to vote for their favourite by clicking the love button for that post in the thread.

If you’d like to show my entry some love go to the thread and click on my love button. In the interest of fairness to all the competition entries (and for fear canvassing would disqualify me!) make sure you also vote for any other entries that tickle your taste pallette. There are some fantastic pieces entered. Mine are a more subtle and abstact interpretation of an Irish Theme, it has to be said!