Easy Choice

Usually, in the run-up to the end of the month, my only crafting focus is to get my socks finished in time to register them for a credit on the Sock-a-Month KAL. My April socks – the Better Mousetrap Socks – were put on the back burner by some grave news.

In the middle of April we got word that one of our co-workers, A., has been diagnosed with an in-operable brain tumour. She’s been missing since last December but for whatever reason, the diagnosis was very slow in coming. I understand she has been started on Chemo-therapy and / or Radiation therapy but details come second or third-hand so are very vague and sketchy indeed.

We all donated to a collection and signed a card and a hamper was decided on as the appropriate gift, since the hospital doesn’t allow flowers. Then, word went round that A. was disappointed that she had missed the Craft Fair last December. So, those of us that had contributed then agreed to make something crafty to put in the hamper.

I thought “If I choose to crochet, I should be able to whip up a hat in an evening – a weekend at most; I’d still have time to finish my socks in time” This would have been true IF my yarn of choice hadn’t been sock yarn weight and my technique of choice wasn’t Tunisian Crochet in Entrelac. Go on – sigh – I know you want to!

Several days later, when I finally admit that I’m making a hat that will fit a toddler – at a push! – I switched to a bulkier yarn and a hat called the Two-Hour Hat from the Christmas edition of Crochet Today.

Two Hours??!?! Two Hours!?!?!? They Liiiiieeeeeeeeedd!

It took me more than two days! I think I was at it for the greater part of a week. But it is soft and snuggly and should fit an adult. And it’s in cotton – Blue Sky Alpaca Dyed Cotton. It’s like a hug for your head. I hope A. feels hugged when she wears it.