Back to My Future

Back to it being the beginning of the year;  back to making plans for the year ahead:

Two facets of my seven-point plan that dictate help determine how the year should pan out. Stash-busting my big-yardage stashes determines the projects; giving hand-made gifts dictates the programme.

The following are my big-yardage stash (in order of decreasing yardage:)

Brand Yarn Weight Remaining yards
Fyberspates Lace Lace / 2 ply 1964
Noro Sekku Lace / 2 ply 1840
Malabrigo Yarn Merino Worsted Aran / 10 ply (8 wpi) 1680
Lane Borgosesia Alpaca Fingering / 4 ply (14 wpi) 1540
Colinette Prism Bulky / 12 ply (7 wpi) 1500
Fyberspates Scrumptious DK Worsted / 10 ply (9 wpi) 1440
Kauni Wool 8/2 Effektgarn  Sport / 5 ply (12 wpi) 1314
The Dublin Dye Company Alpaca Lace Lace / 2 ply 1312
Artesano Inca Cloud Sport / 5 ply (12 wpi) 1310
Zettl Cotton-Classic Cable DK / 8 ply (11 wpi) 1308
Artfibers Andromeda Fingering / 4 ply (14 wpi) 1295.3
Debbie Bliss Donegal Aran Tweed Aran / 10 ply (8 wpi) 1209.6
Manos del Uruguay Silk Blend DK / 8 ply (11 wpi) 1200
Jojoland Melody Superwash Fingering / 4 ply (14 wpi) 1100
Ivy Brambles Romantica Merino Lace Lace / 2 ply 1000
Wendy Happy Fingering / 4 ply (14 wpi) 918
  Pure Laine Aran / 10 ply (8 wpi) 905.5
Brown Sheep Lamb’s Pride Bulky  Super Bulky (5-6 wpi) 875

As I already have designs – quite literally – for the Brown Sheep Lamb’s Pride Bulky, I’ve included all yarns down as far as that. That’s a whopping 23,900+ yards of yarn though. It’s not feasible to expect that I will get it through it all this year. So other factors come into play to prioritise the order they get worked in.

The design and gift-giving deadlines are sprinkled throughout the year, like milestones along the way; and I’ve already ear-marked the yarns needed for them. For the rest of the stashes, I need to pair a project to the yarn to get better idea of how long each project is going to take. Those yarns that I can’t yet pair-up with a project, or the project is more an idea than a true pattern, get relegated to 2012.

When selecting the project to go with the yarn, a limiting parameter on myself was that I must have the pattern already. The volume of patterns that I have overwhelm me as much as the yarn-stash I have  accumulated. It makes no sense to add to one when trying to reduce the other.

I’ve also promised myself, for the longest time, that I want to make a pattern by Carol Feller – a home-grown designer from Cork, whom I’ve admired since I first saw her Doddy pattern in Knitty. This meant that Trilo in Fyberspates Scrumptious DK pipped Swirl Shawl in Jojoland Melody for knitting this year.

So here’s the plan for 2011: yarns are listed with their selected projects and arranged in order of what deadlines there are or when I’d like to have them done by. The number indicates their position on the yardage ranking above:

  Brand Yarn Project Deadline
  Ecolution 6 Strand Fine Dyed Hemp Beading Twine Tubular bag – proto-type 03 February 2011
10 Zettl Cotton-Classic Cable Tubular bag 27 February 2011
18 Brown Sheep Lamb’s Pride Bulky  Seamless Set-In Sleeve 01 March 2011
7 Kauni Wool 8/2 Effektgarn  Double-knit bag 04 April 2011
1 Fyberspates Lace Peaseblossom Tunic 22 May 2011
8 The Dublin Dye Company Alpaca Lace Petals 22 May 2011
2 Noro Sekku Enigma Hooded Cardigan 31 July 2011
4 Lane Borgosesia Alpaca Apres Surf Hoodie 17 August 2011
16 Wendy Happy Tubular bag 31 August 2011
13 Manos del Uruguay Silk Blend Maggie Wrap  30 September 2011
5 Colinette Prism Long Coat with Chevron Lace 31 October 2011
9 Artesano Inca Cloud Gathered Pullover  30 November 2011
6 Fyberspates Scrumptious DK Trilo 31 December 2011
3 Malabrigo Yarn Merino Worsted Cozy Cable Hooded Cardigan  
11 Artfibers Andromeda Wisteria  
12 Debbie Bliss Donegal Aran Tweed TBA  
14 Jojoland Melody Superwash Swirl Shawl  
15 Ivy Brambles Romantica Merino Lace TBA  
17 Cigalaine Pure Laine Loppem  

Let’s see how it all pans out. As I learned last year, I’m a divil for allowing myself to get distracted and veer off-course. I’m hoping that at the very least, those items with a specific deadline get done… on time!

It’ll be fun to read back over this post this time next year.

4 Responses to “Back to My Future”

  1. Alifeofherown Says:

    Snap! I want to make Trilo this year too! But I’m going to have to, em, enhance my stash.. But hey if I use it straight away it doesn’t count as stash right?

    Maybe we can have a Trilo along.

  2. Hazbo Says:

    I stand in awe of your organisation and ambition, and can only wish you the best of luck 🙂

  3. Crafty Blog update 9th-15th January 2011 « Irish Knitting & Crochet Says:

    […] about being overeducated and undervalued; plans on seven for 2011 and reviews 2010 resolutions; makes more concrete plans for 2011 and gets a sushi roll shawl […]

  4. My Seven for 2011 « Under Me Oxter – coz that's how I knit Says:

    […] year to come. At the start of 2011 I posted about Going for Seven in 2011 and even came up with a programme for the year. Time to look at how it all panned out, […]


Leave a comment