Sundry Items

This weekend alone has given me a whole week’s worth of blog-posts:

  • It all started last Friday evening with Fibre Fun Friday at the Tea Gardens (last Friday’s Blog-post).
  • Then yesterday I took a trip to The Yarn Room in Ashford, Co. Wicklow, for a class on Tunisian Crochet by Irene Lundgaarde – more about that in the next Tours on Thursday post. 
  • Among my purchases from The Yarn Room were two pairs of 3.5mm Addi Turbos, which means my Better Mousetrap Socks are back in the running and I have choices to make next Choosey Tuesday.
  • Terrible tease that I am, you’ll have to wait for my next Stash on Saturday blog-post for more details of the inevitable stash enhancement at The Yarn Room.

While I was off galavanting to Co. Wicklow, DH and the kids spent some quality-time together in the garden. Now we have potatoes, lettuce, onions, beetroot, radishes all growing away.

Kitchen Garden

My daughter, the property moghul

DD and I spent some quality-time together too. At her suggestion, we started a game of Monopoly. Our baby-sitter taught her the game a few weekends ago and she’s taken to the whole concept like a duck to water. Her first question, whenever she lands on an un-owned street is “How much rent will you have to pay me if you land here after I buy this?” She doesn’t waste her money on the cheap streets, let me tell you. She is making a killing – at my expense!

I’m back in to work tomorrow morning for the first time in two weeks. I had my second session with the Staff Welfare Officer and she’s agreed with my suggested plan of action for how to try to deal with the crappy work situation. I’m writing it down here so that it’s not just a nebulous plan, floating in my head.

  1. Regardless of what’s going on, take the time and trouble – first thing on Monday morning – to plan my work for the week
  2. Go into my boss and tell him my work-plan – alter it if neccessary – but get his agreement to it
  3. Make a note the conversation with him – either keep a journal or bang off an email to him out-lining the work plan as agreed
  4. Knuckle down and get on with my work and make a note of anytime I’m pulled off it to parachute in on some fire-fight for my boss

The Staff Welfare Officer has suggested that we meet again in a month to discuss how the plan has worked out. I’m bringing a new notebook in with me to work tomorrow so that I can record all goings-on and have something to show her when we meet again. There’s nothing like new stationery to make you feel like you’re making a new beginning. That’s the plan, at least. Fingers-crossed.

6 Responses to “Sundry Items”

  1. Sinéad Says:

    Gosh, I’ve loads to catch up on. Firstly thanks for the competition prizes! I’ll let you know when I get them.
    Good luck in work today, I hope all goes well for you. It certainly sounds like you have a good plan in place.
    The veggie patch looks really good, I’d love to have one too, but fear our garden is too small. I’ll just have to arrive at your house when you’re pulling the radishes & beetroot. I lurves me some of them 🙂

    • undermeoxter Says:

      Excellent! Last year Clarabel was landed with a two large arm-fulls of rhubarb from me and I’m not sure she’s got through it all yet. So I’m sure I’ll be delighted to share some around.

  2. sheknitupthatball Says:

    Loads to tell us about! Can’t wait to see the pics of the new stash and of your time with Stephanie 😀

  3. Bionic Laura Says:

    Love the look of the garden! Sounds like there are many yarn related adventures coming up.
    Sounds like you’ve some progress on the work situation. I dunno about you but I always feel better when I’ve something about a problem. Hopefully this will sort it!


Leave a comment