Choosing Moderation

Hi, My name is UnderMeOxter.

And I buy too much yarn!

Last year, I started with the best of intentions to get my stash under control. I started well, too – monitoring my aquisitions and consumption.

Then I had a few crises and I responded by indulgent spluges. Not only did I undo all my hard work; I set myself back a few years in terms of SABLE.

This drove me to think about the Twelve Steps Programme for addiction. Looking it up on Wikipedia it is scarily appropriate:

  • admitting that one cannot control one’s addiction or compulsion; – I guess that’s what this blog-post is about!
  • recognizing a greater power that can give strength; – That would be you guys, my blog-readers and all my supportive tweeps on Twitter
  • examining past errors with the help of a sponsor (experienced member); – Might be a bit stuck on this one: I don’t know anyone who has successfully kicked the yarn-habit. If any of you want to put yourselves forward as my Sponsor, im ready to spill the beans about all those Stash Enhancement expeditions to TIK and Constant Knit last year!
  • making amends for these errors; – My knitting plan for this year is entirely focused on busting stash to bring myself back under control
  • learning to live a new life with a new code of behavior; – it’s too simplistic to try to “knit more, stash less”. I have to accept that complete abstinence is not realistic so my idea is to have a pre-arranged supply of regular yarn instalments. To this end, I signed up for two Sock Clubs: one from EasyKnits.co.UK and the other by Janel Laidman
  • helping others that suffer from the same addictions or compulsions. – I guess that’s what this blog-post is for too. Perhaps by going through this process I will encourage you to join me.

3 Responses to “Choosing Moderation”

  1. Crafty Blog Updates 23rd-29th January 2011 « Irish Knitting & Crochet Says:

    […] Under me oxter talks about deepest fears and talks about choosing moderation […]

  2. mollydot Says:

    Two things have helped me. One is a rule that I can’t buy more yarn till I’ve finished a project (I also have startitis and many wips, so this kills two birds with one stone). The other is buying large jars and putting a lot of my stash in them, so it’s a visible reminder of how much I have. That’s really reduced the urge to buy yarn.


Leave a comment