Choices, Choices

The last time I had a Choosey Tuesday I asked your opinion on which yarn I should use for my Annis (the Knitty Surprise in the Spring / Summer 2010 edition of Knitty).

I had four to chose from:

Annis Ol' Yarn, Annis Ol' Yarn, Annis Annis Annis Ol' Yarn

From the top:

and I said I’d give a prize to whoever came up with the most convincing argument for which one I should use.

I got four replies (from Deirdre, Mairead, Laura and Sinead) who – though not conclusive – gave me plenty to mull over.

  • Like Deirdre, I’ve a pro-purple tendency so we were down to three pretty quickly;
  • Plus, I love a good word play, which made me pre-disposed to Mairead’s choice of Rayon Vert;
  • But I shared Laura’s concern that the Rayon Vert would have to much contrast in the variagation for the lacework.
  • I was very taken by Sinead argument as she extolled the virtues of knitting with Dream in Color Smooshy, which also got a vote from Deirdre.

Contrary person that I am, however, it was Sinead’s argument for Dream in Color Smooshy that finally convinced me to go with the Misti Alpaca. I know… I’m ornery! You see, I’ve  realised recently that I can’t wear alpaca close to my skin – it makes me itch. So my logic was that I should keep the awesome Dream in Color Smooshy for a nice pair of socks for me (shoot me if I forget this in the future and start to make it into socks for DH; ‘mkay?).

So here it is: the finished (and finally blocked) Annis in Misti Alpaca Handpainted yarn:

Misti Alpaca Annis

I really enjoyed knitting this and – now that it’s been blocked – I’m thrilled with the finished object.

And now for the prize. All of the arguments were convincing and had their own merit. I really appreciate the time and trouble people took to offer me their opinions. (Even if I completely ignore it and go off an do my own thing anyway!) After some delibertion I’ve decided to pick a name at random and the winner is:

Deirdre!

4 Responses to “Choices, Choices”

  1. Sinéad Says:

    Congrats on finishing your Annis, I think it’s really lovely. Your yarn choice in the end was perfect!
    I look forward to seeing Smooshy socks!
    And congrats Deirdre too!

  2. wyvernfriend Says:

    It looks very beautiful, WOOT!!

  3. sheknitupthatball Says:

    Your Annis is just beautiful!

  4. Craftblog Update 19th-25th September « Irish Knitting & Crochet Says:

    […] is Misc-ing in action; Finishes her Annis and awards me a prize and offers advice about […]


Leave a comment